RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #106

20 Jan

nfpb2016

B is for Bear: A Natural AlphabetB is for Bear: A Natural Alphabet by Hannah Viano
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I recently got to see Hannah Viano speak about her books and her writing process. She even brought specimens and did a demonstration of her cut paper art.

While S is for Salmon focused on the Pacific Northwest where she’s from, B is for Bear is more an invitation to kids explore the outdoors wherever they are!
View all my reviews

Two Friends: Susan B. Anthony and Frederick DouglassTwo Friends: Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass by Dean Robbins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Based on their actual tea date (in which, apparently, there’s a statue in Rochester of it), this picture book presents their individual stories of fighting for women and civil rights. It’s nice to think that people who are strong enough to stand up against injustice get together and perhaps get inspired and rejuvenated from one another.
View all my reviews

Martin's Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin LutherKing Jr.Martin’s Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin LutherKing Jr. by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Moments in MLK Jr.’s life are paired with big words that helped shape his beliefs and that he shared with others. Beautiful collage illustrations add to the appeal of this picture book as well as insightful author and illustrator’s notes and a brief timeline. While not comprehensive, this definitely is a must-have.
View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #106

  1. Linda Baie

    January 20, 2016 at 12:21 pm

    I’m interested in Two Friends, didn’t know of their connection. I just got B Is For Bear from the library-looks fun & informative. Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Jane Whittingham

    January 20, 2016 at 2:50 pm

    Two Friends look wonderful, though neither of these individuals are particularly well known amongst kids in my community. Maybe I can change that πŸ™‚

     
  3. Annette Bay Pimentel

    January 20, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    B is for Bear looks graphically gorgeous. On my to-read list.

     
  4. hollymueller

    January 20, 2016 at 8:36 pm

    You got to some good books this week! I’m adding Two Friends to my Goodread TBR list right now! I’ve also never read the MLK biography by Doreen Rappaport. Thanks for sharing these three titles!

     
  5. Michele

    January 21, 2016 at 6:44 am

    B is for Bear looks interesting! I’ll be on the lookout for that one.
    I just got Two Friends from the library. Looking forward to that one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
