RSS

Celebrations #CelebrateLU- January 22, 2016

22 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating some Bookstore Happenings- and other things.

I.

I am constantly amazed and flattered when people want to pick my brain regarding books and the book industry. I love sharing my knowledge but I do get intimidated since it’s really not that intensive.

II.

Nothing is sweeter to hear for booksellers than to hear that our recommendations have been hits. If we’re able to turn a reluctant or casual reader into a lifelong lover of books, that means we’re doing something right. Lately I’ve been super fortunate to hear these kinds of responses from a handful of people and I don’t know what I ever did to have such a great job and to be in contact with so many great people!

GBBNOTE

Here’s a sweet note a young girl left after one of our crafts!

III.

We were thrilled to have a special bilingual English/Japanese story time for The Extraordinary Voyage of Kamome with authors Lori Dengler and Amya Miller and illustrator Amy Uyeki. Click on the title or the image below to read my review of the picture book.

kamome.jpg

The next two aren’t bookstore related but I still wanted to celebrate them.

IV.

A couple of my friends and I watched a stage production of Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations. I wasn’t really familiar with the story. I really enjoyed the style of it where the narrative texts are spoken out loud as dialogue and sometimes not just by one narrator. It was very unique.

V.

I’m lucky to have such thoughtful and considerate friends! Whether it’s going out or staying in at their place, I enjoy the moments we create. I always seem to gush how lucky I am to have the life I do but I can’t help it!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrations #CelebrateLU- January 22, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    January 24, 2016 at 7:10 am

    I’m always happy to read what you share about your book selling, Earl. It sounds wonderful every time. And glad it was a good week with friends, too. Have a great Sunday!

     
  2. Ramona

    January 25, 2016 at 7:28 am

    Love hearing your celebrations – bookish and otherwise. I hope to stop by whenever I make it to Portland again. Thanks for recommending Blanco’s memoir. I blogged about it this week for Poetry Friday.

     

Leave a Reply

 
