RSS

#IMWAYR – January 24, 2016

24 Jan

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating some Bookstore Happenings- and other things.

StinaStina by Lani Yamamoto
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A unique book about an Icelandic girl who doesn’t like the cold. She does everything in her power using her imagination to avoid being cold but one day feels the lack of warmth of being around friends. Includes instructions on knitting with fingers and a recipe for hot chocolate.
View all my reviews

Stanley's Plan: The Birthday SurpriseStanley’s Plan: The Birthday Surprise by Ruth Green
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A dog sees a pie out of reach and he tries to have his friends help him get it only to discover they won’t. But patience wins out when he realizes there’s a reason they aren’t!
View all my reviews

Big FriendsBig Friends by Linda Sarah
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Surprisingly endearing book about two best friends that becomes about three friends and then two friends and one who doesn’t like the new dynamic. The text was kind of clunky for me in the beginning but I ended up enjoying the story more than I thought I would.
View all my reviews

Shape ShiftShape Shift by Joyce Hesselberth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fun book to teach kids about shapes and using their imagination.
View all my reviews

What's Up MuMu?What’s Up MuMu? by David Mackintosh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
An odd story about friendship. MuMu is grumpy. Lox wants to cheer her up but things don’t go exactly as planned. Odd but interesting in a good way.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

We Should All Be FeministsWe Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’d been hearing a lot about this book recently. Adapted from her Tedx Talk, this is a call to action to change the way women are being treated and mistreated. By simply allowing things to continue as they are, we unknowingly promote outdated and harmful and disrespectful behavior. We should indeed all be feminists because it’s just an extension of fighting for human rights.
View all my reviews

[***] I definitely felt like I was going into this in media res. It took me awhile to get into it- who the characters were, where their alliances lay, and even the flow of the story. I’m interested in what happens next so I will definitely read on but it’s not as gripping as I thought it would be.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “#IMWAYR – January 24, 2016

  1. msyingling

    January 25, 2016 at 3:32 am

    I should just buy We Should All Be Feminists for my daughter for her birthday. It baffles me when I have boys who won’t read books with girls on the cover. Also, I firmly believe that all little boys should be given dolls to nurture. The boys think this is weird until I explain it to them. Is this 2016 or 1956? Good for you!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 25, 2016 at 5:45 am

    I’ll look for Stina, Earl. It sounds like an interesting book about friendship, as do Shape Shift and Big Friends. Thanks.

     
  3. Michele

    January 25, 2016 at 6:22 am

    I’m picking up Big Friends from the library today. Thanks for the review!

     
  4. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    January 25, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    I have seen Chimamanda’s Ted Talk, but for some reason didn’t know there was a book–I must be out of the loop. Thank you for sharing.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. vgpratt

    January 26, 2016 at 8:04 pm

    Your comment regarding We Should All be Feminists is a powerful one, Earl. You are so right. That’s a book I need to read! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. 🙂

     
  6. Myra GB

    January 27, 2016 at 1:15 am

    Oh no, we still don’t have We Should All Be Feminists in our public libraries. Hopefully we get it during the first quarter of the year – sounds like a riveting read. 🙂

     
  7. crbrunelle

    January 27, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    I need to learn how to finger knit. I’ll look for Stina. I love that last sentence, “We should indeed all be feminists because it’s just an extension of fighting for human rights.” Exactly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
