RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #106

27 Jan

nfpb2016

8: An Animal Alphabet8: An Animal Alphabet by Elisha Cooper
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This beautifully illustrated picture book features animals from A to Z. Readers will enjoy the “I spy” aspect of it. Also includes fun facts for each animal.
View all my reviews

Jemmy ButtonJemmy Button by Alix Barzelay
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Based on a true story of a young boy taken from his island home to be raised in Victorian England. I wished there were more or that it went deeper but that probably wouldn’t be suited for kids. Imagine the unnecessary fear and confusion this boy suffered for the sake of this experiment.

Unique illustrations style.
View all my reviews

Electrical Wizard: How Nikola Tesla Lit Up the WorldElectrical Wizard: How Nikola Tesla Lit Up the World by Elizabeth Rusch
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Absolutely fascinating book about a boy whose imagination and curiosity led him to invent many things that we still use today. I liked that it touched upon his successes and failures, and his rivalry with Thomas Edison! Extensive additional info can be found at the end of the book.
View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #106

  1. Jane Whittingham

    January 27, 2016 at 9:39 am

    The story of Jemmy Button is a complex and tragic one that didn’t have the happy ending suggested in the book, though I understand why they might have changed it to be more kid-friendly.

     
  2. Annette Bay Pimentel

    January 27, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Jemmy Button sounds intriguing. Just put it on hold.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    January 27, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    My daughter is in love with Tesla’s work so I bought her this picture book a while ago. It is fascinating, isn’t it? I love 8, thought it was pretty and so clever. Still haven’t read Jemmy Button. I keep forgetting it’s a non-fiction story. Thanks for the reminder, Earl!

     
  4. crbrunelle

    January 27, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    Tesla is someone I want to know more about. I think we have that one in our LMC too. I’ve never heard of Jemmy Button. What a horrible thing to experiment on people.

     
  5. Michele

    January 28, 2016 at 6:52 am

    I haven’t read the Tesla book yet. Lots of great STEM discussions usually come from those books.

     

Leave a Reply

 
