RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #107

03 Feb

nfpb2016

I’ve been on a nonfiction picture book kick recently. I’m sharing some of the books this week and saving some for the next two weeks when I’m away on vacation.

Dr. Seuss: The Great DoodlerDr. Seuss: The Great Doodler by Kate Klimo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A brief biography of one of my Creative Heroes. Hopefully readers will end up wanting to read more about Seuss but I appreciate this introduction to him and the fact they tried to make it more interesting by including rare artwork.

View all my reviews

Freedom in Congo SquareFreedom in Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Told in verse, this is a celebration of the human spirit to still find reasons to laugh and play, dance and make music. I would think it’s necessary to do so to endure and to have hope. The back matter includes more information about the place and a glossary.

View all my reviews

Frederick's Journey: The Life of Frederick DouglassFrederick’s Journey: The Life of Frederick Douglass by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

WOW! It’s absolutely humbling to read about Frederick Douglass. He didn’t let anything get in the way of bettering himself and making sure the world was not the unfair place he was born into but a place where everyone was treated equal. I definitely need to check out his autobiography.

The illustrations were incredible as well.

And, I didn’t realize Doreen Rappaport’s amazing biographies were part of her Big Words series. I’ll definitely read them all!

View all my reviews

 

6 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #107

  1. Annette Pimentel

    February 3, 2016 at 10:21 am

    That portrait of Frederick Douglass is compelling.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    February 3, 2016 at 10:42 am

    I read and enjoyed Congo Square this week too! And I read a brief book about Susan B. Anthony & Frederick Douglas. Now I want to find the one about Douglas that you reviewed. Thanks also about the Dr. Seuss one-new to me.

     
  3. Jane Whittingham

    February 3, 2016 at 5:26 pm

    I’ve been hearing a lot about Congo Square, I’d better get my hands on that. The biography of Dr. Seuss looks interesting, I actually don’t know that much about him.

     
  4. crbrunelle

    February 3, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    Clearly I will need to read the Frederick Douglas book!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    February 3, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    I need to get that Frederick Douglass book. He is such a force, and I love learning about him.

     
  6. hollymueller

    February 4, 2016 at 4:08 am

    The cover of Freedom in Congo Square jumped out at me. All three look good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
