RSS

Celebrations #CelebrateLU- February 5, 2016

05 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating unexpected occurrences.

On Monday, there was apparently some sort of Scavenger Hunt going on in which couples come to the store pretending to be customers, stay awhile, and leave with no intention of buying any of the books I help them find. They’ll also ask if I’ve ever been to a certain foreign country. By the fourth couple, I had no patience. I had work to do and I couldn’t be bothered babysitting them. I ranted on my personal page and mentioned that if some organization was going to do some Scavenger Hunt they should inform the businesses and maybe ask their participants to buy something.

On Wednesday, we got this thoughtful apology note from the company/people who I mentioned on Monday. I was surprised and impressed by their action because it shows they understand. I don’t know how they knew about it (probably by my attitude and my facial expression) but I appreciated it!

apology

On Thursday, I was invited to come to a critique group and talk about books and bookselling. One of them was a regular customer and I’m easily flattered people would think I was knowledgeable enough for them to pick my brains, so I said yes. I hoped I was able to help them in any way. I definitely tried pointing them to the right direction by mentioning the CYBILS, Nerdy Book Club, We Need Diverse Books, and the #IMWAYR meme, as things to know about.

Somehow or other, I ended up reading my picture book and I’m so grateful for the reactions I got. I can’t wait to send it out and have people read it!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrations #CelebrateLU- February 5, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    February 6, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    Busy, and sometimes frustrating, week, but ending beautifully, right? Love the news about your picture book, Earl. Great to hear.

     
  2. Crystal

    February 6, 2016 at 3:44 pm

    Yay for your book. I wish you the best as you begin to share it with the world.

     
  3. cvarsalona

    February 7, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    A picture book, Earl-how great is that! Please share.

     

Leave a Reply

 
