RSS

#IMWAYR – February 7, 2016

07 Feb

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating unexpected occurrences.

Ballet Cat: Dance! Dance! Underpants!Ballet Cat: Dance! Dance! Underpants! by Bob Shea
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Silly and fun follow-up to what I hope will be an ongoing series for years to come!
View all my reviews

Fancy Nancy: Saturday Night SleepoverFancy Nancy: Saturday Night Sleepover by Jane O’Connor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I felt this was a stronger addition to the series tackling themes kids can relate to and adults would appreciate they can talk about. I like Fancy Nancy because she is a girly girl. Sometimes we can sell a book just by the amount of glitter on the cover! But the books also teach vocabulary and facing one’s fears.
View all my reviews

Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange BirdDill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird by Nora Ericson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
We had the author and illustrator, sister-duo, Nora and Lisa Ericson, at our store for their release party for their picture book. A fun story of different personalities and stepping out of one’s perceived box to become friends. There’s a sequel coming out next January. And I was really impressed by how many people came and I wish them all the best with this book!
View all my reviews

Hello, My Name Is OcticornHello, My Name Is Octicorn by Kevin Diller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
“Half unicorn, half octopus, half confused.”

I loved recommending this book to our customers when I first heard about it a couple years ago. Back then it was just self-published. And, now it’s going to have a major publication release in May 24th. It’s a laugh-out-loud story about individuality. The new version has touches of color instead of just the original black and white.
View all my reviews

Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book)Snappsy the Alligator by Julie Falatko
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fun! Fun! Fun! This is a day in the life of Snappsy the Alligator who becomes the unwilling subject of a picture book. Forced to defend his character and to throw a party to liven the story up, readers will delight in this wacky tale.
View all my reviews

A Crow of His OwnA Crow of His Own by Megan Dowd Lambert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I read this because I found out this was an Ezra Jack Keats Book Award honor for New Writer. Full of puns and with a great message of stepping out of someone’s shadow to shine a spotlight on your own talents, this would make for a great read-aloud.

To see the winners and honors: http://www.ezra-jack-keats.org/press-…
View all my reviews

The Key to ExtraordinaryThe Key to Extraordinary by Natalie Lloyd
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The Key to Extraordinary is my first #mustread #mglit of 2016. Wow. Just wow. Full review soon.
View all my reviews

Presumed Puzzled (Puzzle Lady #17)Presumed Puzzled by Parnell Hall
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Every year, I look forward to a new Puzzle Lady mystery. I love the wordplay and the characters. But when the story gets too convoluted even by this series’ standard and when the puzzles have no relevance then it’s no longer fun. Cora, in particular, is becoming too tiresome. I hope the series ends soon- maybe book 20?
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

Lord Edgware Dies (Hercule Poirot, #9)Lord Edgware Dies by Agatha Christie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
All my favorite characters (Poirot, Hasting, and Japp) are back in this delightful and genius mystery.
View all my reviews

[***] I’m officially hooked on this series! Building on the the existing relationships and past storylines, we follow Aang and his friends as they battle outside forces and within their group. Lots of surprises and great messages about preserving past traditions and present day concerns as well as environmental impact without it being too preachy. I’m glad I wait until I have the books all at once because I just end up devouring the whole series. I even want to check out the animated series.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR – February 7, 2016

  1. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    February 8, 2016 at 3:31 am

    Key to Extraordinary was more engaging than Snicker of Magic. You had a busy reading week.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    February 8, 2016 at 6:54 am

    I’m looking forward to The Key To Extraordinary, Earl. Glad to hear you liked it a lot. Fun to also hear about Octicorn. The author must be very excited.

     
  3. Hannahlily Angus (@DismalWhimsy)

    February 8, 2016 at 8:02 am

    Lord Edgware Dies is one of my favorite Christies. The solution totally surprised me!

     
  4. Cheriee Weichel

    February 8, 2016 at 8:23 am

    You have lots of great books here Earl. I am looking forward to reading The Key to Extraordinary. I loved A Snicker of Magic. Isn’t Gene Luen Yang involved in the Avatar series? Octicorn sounds delightful.

     
  5. Jane Whittingham

    February 8, 2016 at 9:16 am

    So many great books, where to even start? I want to start sharing Snappsy with kids, I’m always getting requests for funny books, so it’s great to have new titles in my arsenal!

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    February 8, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    I’ve heard so many great things about Snappsy. I need to read that one soon!

     
  7. Michele

    February 8, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    I’m going to keep looking for the Dr. Seuss book, it’s not at my library yet.
    I started book talking Book Fair books today and The Key to Extraordinary got a lot of love!

     
  8. Myra GB

    February 8, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    I just checked – we still don’t have the key to extraordinary in our libraries – not even in our fab bookstore (Kinokuniya). I feel so bad.
    Do think about passing by Singapore while you visit Manila! 🙂 It would be nice to meet up in person.

     

Leave a Reply

 
