RSS

#IMWAYR – February 14, 2016

14 Feb

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my sister. Life is short. Love is forever.

Henry Wants More!Henry Wants More! by Linda Ashman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This picture book perfectly captures the endless energy of a toddler and has a super sweet ending. I love the illustrations depicting diverse characters.
View all my reviews

Last Stop on Market StreetLast Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Christian Robinson has become an illustrator whose books I always look forward to reading. This one is no exception. Matt de la Pena writes a wonderful story about the beauty of one’s city told through the relationship of a boy and his grandmother.”

That was my review when I first read it last year. And it’s been one of my favorite books to recommend. After sweeping the ALA YMA, I wanted to reread it, especially for the text only but I couldn’t help starting over yet again- so caught up I was with the illustrations.

It is a darn good story.

View all my reviews

Magdalena's PicnicMagdalena’s Picnic by Patricia Aguilar Morrissey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Enjoyable tale of a girl with a big imagination who transforms her afternoon out in the backyard into a wild jungle adventure. I love the illustrations in this one and readers will definitely enjoy identifying where her imagination ran wild.
View all my reviews

Chocolate Me!Chocolate Me! by Taye Diggs
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I wanted to read this before I read Mixed Me! but the writing seemed a little bit off to me. I’m glad there’s a book like this, though. I would recommend it to older kids though not because younger kids shouldn’t read about this but the tone seems better for the former. And I liked the details in the illustrations- particularly all the sayings on the boy’s shirt.
View all my reviews

King and KingKing and King by Linda de Haan
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this book awhile. And, it’s another one of those books I’m glad it exists. The problem I had was that it seemed mean-spirited. All the women were portrayed negatively to me. For a book that’s supposed to teach acceptance and tolerance, it also managed to be mocking.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

Leave a Reply

 
