RSS

#IMWAYR- February 21, 2016/ Review: The Key to Extraordinary

21 Feb

The Key to Extraordinary
By Natalie Lloyd

I was afraid The Key to Extraordinary would suffer from the sophomore slump but I should have had more faith in Natalie Lloyd’s writing and storytelling skills. Her first middle grade novel, A Snicker of Magic, is one of my favorite books to recommend. It truly is a wonder of a book.

I admit Key started off slow for me- and I felt the language was too flowery for my taste. I’m such a manly man you see. And I’m also quite vain so when a character named was Earl was introduced, the book got all the more interesting. I’m always curious how Earl’s in the media fare and I always want them to do well in their respective stories.

Once the story picked up a few chapters in, I couldn’t put the book down. I stayed up all night so invested was I to know what would happen next. I loved the friendships and other relationships. I loved the adventure and the magic and the realness of the situations. I loved the little surprises here and there.

With some books, you can feel the heart and soul of the writer in the words they share with the readers. And I feel with this book, we get a more of a glimpse of how extraordinary a human being Natalie Lloyd is!

(Note: I’ve been on vacation the past two weeks and I’m just borrowing my grandma’s iPad so the formatting- or the lack of- here is a bit wonky. I will edit it eventually but I just wanted to share this wonderful book!)

 

11 responses to “#IMWAYR- February 21, 2016/ Review: The Key to Extraordinary

  1. Kristi Lonheim

    February 22, 2016 at 12:08 am

    Glad you are enjoying it. Happy reading!

     
  2. Michele

    February 22, 2016 at 5:59 am

    I adored this book as well! I think Natalie could rewrite the phone book and somehow make it sound good!
    I hope you are enjoying vacation!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    February 22, 2016 at 6:19 am

    A must read, as so many are already praising it, Earl. Thanks for your share, too! I love your intro!

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    February 22, 2016 at 6:41 am

    I loved A Snicker of Magic and will have to look for this book too. I wish my students loved it as much as I did but it is a shelf-sitter in my library. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

     
  5. Jane Whittingham

    February 22, 2016 at 8:25 am

    Wow…I’ve never read Natalie Lloyd before, but after a glowing review like this I think I really should!

     
  6. Tammy and Clare

    February 22, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    I love that you are such a readerthat you wrote this on your grandma’s IPAD while on vacation- Now that shows how much you love books! The Key to Extraordinary is going on our TBR list

     
  7. cheriee weichel

    February 22, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    I too loved A sSicker of Magic. Now I really want to read The Key to Extraordinary.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    February 22, 2016 at 8:15 pm

    Ahh, I am so glad to hear you loved The Key to Extraordinary. I was worried about the sophomore slump, so I am going to go into it without that dread. Thank you!

     
  9. Myra GB

    February 23, 2016 at 1:56 am

    Great to read how much you enjoyed The Key to Extraordinary – now checking whether we already have it in our public libraries. Enjoy Manila! I hope you get to visit Boracay too. 🙂

     
  10. Brenda

    February 23, 2016 at 8:36 am

    I’ve had this on my to read pile ever since reading A Snicker of Magic and hearing that she was writing another book. So happy you enjoyed it, can’t wait to get my hands on it!

     
  11. ejmam

    February 28, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    I keep meaning to make a database with first names matched to kidlit, because who doesn’t love having characters named after yourself? Especially if your name isn’t that common. I still haven’t found one with my son’s name in it..

     

Leave a Reply

 
