RSS

#CelebrateLU- February 26, 2016

26 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week, I’m celebrating my trip to the Philippines!

I may not be the most exciting person to have returned there but I’m so thankful to everyone for making me feel so welcome. Delicious food. New experiences. Great people. Wonderful memories. But the most important thing I’m taking with me is the love I feel for and from my family.

[Note: My laptop is currently broken so I’m typing this on my tablet. I wanted to include pictures but I’ll have to figure out how to do that another time!]

Delicious food.

When I think of all I ate during my trip, I still get full. From Filipino cuisine and home cooked meals I’ve been craving to street food and even tasting ostrich at a fancy restaurant, my mouth was definitely in heaven. The most interesting food related thing I had was having a boodle fight.

For those not in the know, a boodle fight is serving a buffet style meal on top of banana leaves and eating with one’s hands. It’s akin to a clam bake. We had grilled fish, grilled pork, shrimp, fried eggplant, and a noodle dish called pancit palabok.

Wonderful memories. New experiences.

This vacation also offered many trips down memory lane visiting places from my childhood including pasing by my old high school.

We also ended up visiting new-to-me places like the beautiful mountain city of Baguio where strawberries were in season.

The most surprising thing I saw in my travel was the insane traffic situations in Manila! Imagine five lanes of speeding vehicles trying to fit into three lanes and that’s not including motorcycles weaving in and out of any available space and the pedestrians trying to cross!

Great people.

I hadn’t seen my mom and grandma in years so I loved spending time with them! The last time I was in the Philippines was fifteen years ago and I’m glad I also got to see unlces and aunts and cousins.

I was able to spend some quality time with my brother in law and two nieces. I’m so blessed to have the family I have!

This trip was definitely heavy on the nostalgia. And we visited a couple of cemeteries to pay respects to those who passed like my grandpa and one of my aunts. The one that hit me emotionally the most was visiting my sister’s grave. I took a personal moment to catch her up on things and to read the picture book I’m working on which is dedicated to her.

I’m definitely glad I went back to the Philippines because it was my first home. I’m already saving up for when I go back in a couple of years!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “#CelebrateLU- February 26, 2016

  1. Bernadette

    February 27, 2016 at 4:34 am

    Such a long time to be away from those you love. Enjoy every moment and I hope you have access to a good washing machine for the aftermath of those delicious boodle fights!

     
  2. Michelle Haseltine

    February 27, 2016 at 5:11 am

    It sounds like a wonderful trip home! I can’t wait to see pictures! Hope you post some soon!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    February 27, 2016 at 6:21 am

    Love that “boodle fight”, Earl. This must have been a marvelous trip, with everyone so happy to see you too. 15 years is a long time. I’m happy that you enjoyed every bit.

     
  4. Crystal

    February 28, 2016 at 11:24 am

    I am so glad you had the chance to visit your home and reconnect with people and enjoy the food. Visiting with family can be a wonderful gift. I love the name boodle fight. 🙂

     
  5. Ramona

    February 28, 2016 at 5:36 pm

    So glad for your wonderful trip home. And that you’re already planning your next trip. And maybe next time, you’ll a published picture book to share with your sister. Going to the cemetery is a favorite part of my trips home.

     

Leave a Reply

 
