RSS

#IMWAYR- February 28, 2016

28 Feb

Note: I’d been on vacation the past couple of weeks and then my laptop broke so I’ve decided to take a month-long break from blogging. I have one or two scheduled posts but then I’ll take March off. I hate not being able to format properly and not being able to visit and comment on your blogs when you’ve taken time to visit and comment on mine.

I’ll still post book reviews on Goodreads and on this blog’s Facebook page.

Come On, Rain!Come On, Rain! by Karen Hesse
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Beautifully illustrated by Jon J. Muth, this picture book captures a simple moment- the arrival of rain on a hot day- and celebrates mothers and daughters in the process.

View all my reviews

Swap!Swap! by Steve Light
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The illustrations are great in this story about two pirate friends. They end up trading seemingly unrelated items throughout the book to reveal a surprise at the end!

View all my reviews

Tree: A Peek-Through Picture BookTree: A Peek-Through Picture Book by Britta Teckentrup
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a cute way to learn about the seasons. Readers will enjoy searching for all the details on the pages. I really enjoyed the design of the book.

View all my reviews

The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde (The Princess in Black, #3)The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde by Shannon Hale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t really get into this one as much as the first two books in the series. But I can see the appeal it’ll have on kids.

View all my reviews

Princess Pistachio and the PestPrincess Pistachio and the Pest by Marie-Louise Gay
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m a fan of Marie Louise Gay’s Stella and Sam series but I just can’t get into her Princess Pistachio books. This one in particular lacked charm and the characters were unlikable. I also would just stick with calling the books Pistachio since she’s not really a Princess.

View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

The Book of Unknown AmericansThe Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was hesitant to read Multnomah County Library’s Everybody Reads selection because I was so underwhelmed by their choice. But I enjoyed this novel and breezed through it. This is the story of immigrants from Latin America. In an apartment building in Delaware, you get glimpses of what they sacrificed to get to the US, their dreams, their disillusionment, their hardships, and their triumphs. The focus is on two families whose lives become intertwined when their children fall in love. Readers might get a sense of what’s going to happen but they’ll still be surprised. I would have liked more diversity in the voices of the characters. I think this was a good choice for a community reading project because the topic is timely.

View all my reviews

Happy Reading!

 

3 responses to “#IMWAYR- February 28, 2016

  1. Tammy and Clare

    February 29, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    We hope you have a wonderful vacation and look forward to reading more of your posts in April

     
  2. Joanne Toft

    February 29, 2016 at 3:07 pm

    I love Come On Rain! I used it in so many ways in my classroom over the years!
    See you in a month – happy reading – it will be fun to hear what you have read while away!

     
  3. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    March 1, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    Enjoy your vacation! 🙂 Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
