I’d been visiting libraries on my own ever since I was able to get there without getting lost. And, even if I do- and I still do, I still go. Sometimes, I would go to multiple libraries in a single day and that’s basically what a library hop is.

Since 2010, I’d been keeping track of these Library Hop adventures. Usually, I’d have a friend with me but, on this most recent one, I found myself alone and in a different country altogether.

This is the 7th Annual Library Hop: International Edition a.k.a. “An Eight-Hour Layover at the Taiwan Airport Edition.”

On my recent trip to the Philippines, my flight had an eight-hour layover at Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport. I was very impressed with its themed waiting lounges ranging from cute to cultural, its free Internet stations, prayer rooms, and art galleries. And, thank goodness, there were also bookstores and libraries!

The first one I saw was the e-Library Waiting Lounge. It had a Reading Area, tablets to read foreign magazines, and even an exhibit featuring one of Taiwan’s literary figures, Bing-Ding Hsu.

There were two other E-Libraries in the airport which were touted as “the world’s first
airport library for ebooks.”

t9t11

My favorite library in the airport was the Mind Garden- Airport Library. On one side, were shelves of books, including some familiar titles. On the other was a reading area and some children’s books. There was also a store where sales benefited various non-profits.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really loved Taiwan’s focus on literacy- at least in the airport. If a reader was going to have a long layover, I couldn’t think of a better place!

Previous Library Hops:
The First Ever Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl
The 2nd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl
Library Hopping 2011 2.5: The Continuing Adventures of Marley and Pearl
The 3rd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl: LFL Edition, Part I
The 3rd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl: LFL Edition, Part II
The Road Trippin’ Adventures of Ericat and Muffin: In which She takes Him Library Hopping and wonders what She got Herself into
5th Annual Library Hop a.k.a. “More Adventures of Ericat and Muffin: In which They reunite and go Library Hopping Again.”
6th Annual Library Hop: Out of State Edition a.k.a “Las Vegas Edition (Actually Henderson but who even knows where that is?) with Christine Claiborne”

Leave a comment