RSS

Catch-Up Book Reviews, Part 1

29 Mar

Beatrix Potter and the Unfortunate Tale of a Borrowed Guinea PigBeatrix Potter and the Unfortunate Tale of a Borrowed Guinea Pig by Deborah Hopkinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Based on a real events from Beatrix Potter’s childhood, Deborah Hopkinson recounts the story of an animal-loving girl and an unfortunate incident involving a guinea pig.
View all my reviews

Look and Be GratefulLook and Be Grateful by Tomie dePaola
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A super quick read that speaks so much truth about what life has to offer when one takes the time to “look and be grateful.”
View all my reviews

Surf's UpSurf’s Up by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This would make for a great summer read. Two friends have two very different ideas of how to spend a day. One wants to surf while the other wants to keep reading his book. Great for parents, educators and librarians to showcase how amazing of an adventure reading can be!
View all my reviews

Before I LeaveBefore I Leave by Jessixa Bagley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Two friends must say goodbye in this picture book perfect for readers who may be experiencing something similar. It’ll reassure either party that friendship can still thrive despite distance and circumstances.
View all my reviews

The Night GardenerThe Night Gardener by Terry Fan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Beautifully illustrated, this one reminded me a little bit of Edward Scissorhands and made me wonder why Portland doesn’t have a topiary garden.
View all my reviews

Middle Grade

Masterminds: Criminal Destiny (Masterminds #2)Masterminds: Criminal Destiny by Gordon Korman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Masterminds was a book I couldn’t stop talking about last year. It was such a thrill ride and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. Criminal Destiny is full of non stop action and adventure as the kids search for answers about who and what they are while at the same time trying to elude their captors. The only problem is that I have forever to wait until the next book.
View all my reviews

Graphic Novel

The Great Pet EscapeThe Great Pet Escape by Victoria Jamieson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’m so happy Victoria Jamieson has a new graphic novel out. Roller Girl has just been so easy to recommend. Fans of it and I think especially those who enjoyed her picture books will gobble the first in this new series about classroom pets. In this one, they try to escape from their cages.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

Why Didn't They Ask Evans?Why Didn’t They Ask Evans? by Agatha Christie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Read as part of the following Reading Challenges:
Agatha Christie
Off the Shelf
View all my reviews

 

One response to “Catch-Up Book Reviews, Part 1

  1. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    March 31, 2016 at 9:49 am

    I have Mastermind #1 on my #mustread list. I cannot wait to read it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
