RSS

Catch-Up Book Reviews, Part 2

29 Mar

A Big Surprise for Little CardA Big Surprise for Little Card by Charise Mericle Harper
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Hooray for libraries! Little Card discovers he’s not the birthday card he wanted to be. But he soon learns how much fun being a library card can be in this quirky picture book.
View all my reviews

TreatTreat by Mary Sullivan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun follow up to Ball, this makes for a great read-aloud. During one of Read to a Therapy Dog session at the bookstore, a girl read this to the golden retriever and it was so much fun to listen to the different ways she read the one word!
View all my reviews

Spot, the CatSpot, the Cat by Henry Cole
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
In this wordless picture book, a cat leaves the apartment and explores the city around him. Readers will enjoy searching for him as he tries to find his way home. I enjoyed the details in the black and white illustrations.
View all my reviews
Ideas Are All AroundIdeas Are All Around by Philip C. Stead
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is my third favorite picture book of 2016. I love the concept and can be used as a mentor text in classrooms. Although, I do think adults may get a bit more out of it- and there’s nothing wrong with that!
View all my reviews

Abracadabra, It's Spring!Abracadabra, It’s Spring! by Anne Sibley O’Brien
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Lift the flaps reveal spring surprises in this vibrantly illustrated book.
View all my reviews

Please, LouisePlease, Louise by Toni Morrison
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Celebrates libraries and the magic of how reading can transform the dreariest of days into the most magical moments.
View all my reviews

Please, Baby, PleasePlease, Baby, Please by Spike Lee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been wanting to read this since I’m always curious when celebrities write books. Cute book about how much of a handful a baby can be. Kadir Nelson’s illustrations alone are worth picking up this book.
View all my reviews

My Heart Fills with HappinessMy Heart Fills with Happiness by Monique Gray Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Similar in tone as Richard Van Camp’s Little You (also illustrated by Julie Flett), this is a sweet message book depicting Indigenous children and families.
View all my reviews

Middle Grade

Tuck EverlastingTuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this since it celebrated a big anniversary last year and is going to be a musical. I wasn’t as drawn to the story as I thought I would be. I particularly didn’t like any of the characters. Of course, readers will be interested in the concept of living forever. Would you choose to be the same age you are for the rest of eternity?
View all my reviews

Graphic Novel

Amulet: Firelight (Amulet, #7)Amulet: Firelight by Kazu Kibuishi
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I devoured the books in this series and couldn’t wait for this one. And now I can’t wait for the next two. And I’m an impatient guy. And I’ll definitely reread the entire series to refresh my memory. Loved the cliffhanger and I know the best is yet to come!
View all my reviews

 

One response to “Catch-Up Book Reviews, Part 2

  1. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 29, 2016 at 6:26 pm

    So many reviews! You must have been busy writing (and reading) them all! I’ve seen Treat on a few lists tonight. I am intrigued now! I hope you have a wonderful week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
