RSS

#CelebrateLU- April 1, 2016

01 Apr
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating catching up and moving on.

Yesterday, I spent a good chunk of my morning working on book reviews to post on Goodreads and on here. I was using my new laptop and I still can’t understand why it won’t just automatically save but needs to be online to upload the changes. Long story short, none of the reviews I worked on saved.

Instead of wasting my time trying to figure out how to get those words back, I will just move on. I have other things to work on and can’t be stuck on the past.

Luckily, I did have some reviews already written.

The Best of Lola Basyang: Timeless Tales for the Filipino FamilyThe Best of Lola Basyang: Timeless Tales for the Filipino Family by Severino Reyes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Adultery and murder start off this collection of Filipino fairy tales by Lola Basyang (Grandmother Basyang), a storyteller created by Filipino playwright Severino Reyes.

In Maria Alimango, we get a variation of Cinderella replete with the wicked stepmother and stepsisters, and a glass slipper left behind at the ball. But this one has a magical crab (alimango), the girl’s mother reincarnated only to be caught and eaten.

While I enjoyed these stories, some could have been pared down.
View all my reviews

BloomBloom by Doreen Cronin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A mud fairy’s magic isn’t much appreciated but it’s enough to banish her from the pristine glass kingdom. Even when they ask for her help and she gives it to them, they think she is being impertinent. It may take someone extra ordinary to appreciate it and figure out a solution to all their problems.
View all my reviews

BookBook by John Agard
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Not as bad as I thought it would be. A quick read through the history of the book. Great for young readers- and adults who want to learn about it but don’t have time to read a much longer book about the same subject.
View all my reviews

SpeeltuinSpeeltuin by Mies van Hout
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
The American title is Playground.

On the way to the playground, friends travel to dangerous or difficult lands. Invites readers to “walk” with them in a sort of maze-like way.
View all my reviews

Just My LuckJust My Luck by Cammie McGovern
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I love books about kindness. And I just read this dog-chewed copy of Just My Luck by Cammie McGovern.

Luck is one thing that Benny and his family may not have a lot of these days when unexpected circumstances throw them for a scare. But it’s during these tough times they will discover that there is kindness as well.

The story serves as a reminder that most people do want to help out in one way or another but may just not know how- so unfortunately they don’t.

I’m also reminded that everyone has their own set of problems to deal with. It’s incredibly brave of them to go on with their everyday lives despite of these.

It also got me thinking about if how we were a little bit kinder to ourselves and one another some of our decisions may not be as difficult. Good and righteousness will trump over bad divisive choices.

Another takeaway I had was that sometimes we do want some sort of recognition for the good deeds we do but we need to remember that it’s not about whether we’re getting credit or not for them but that we do them anyway. Ultimately people do notice even if they don’t say it outright. It can be in the way they treat you that you know for sure.
View all my reviews

The TypewriterThe Typewriter by Bill Thomson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I loved the expressive illustrations in this nearly wordless picture book. Reminiscent of David Weisner’s Flotsam. This is a delightful story of what happens when a group of kids finds a mysterious typewriter.

I didn’t realize this was published by an Amazon imprint which probably explains why I haven’t seen it in the independent bookstores I go to.
View all my reviews

Skunk on a StringSkunk on a String by Thao Lam
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Not everything is what it seems in this wordless picture book. How exactly did a skunk get tangled up? Will anyone help him out? The collage art illustrations are very pretty.
View all my reviews

Dario and the WhaleDario and the Whale by Cheryl Lawton Malone
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A boy and his mom stay the summer at Cape Cod where he feels completely alone- until he spies a whale in the beach. They start communicating in their own ways and become friends. But what happens when it’s time to say goodbye? Includes a page of information about right whales (the type of whale) and their habits.
View all my reviews

The Big Adventure of a Little LineThe Big Adventure of a Little Line by Serge Bloch
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
There are touches of Harold and the Purple Crayon and Oh! The Place You’ll Go! in this picture book about a boy who finds a stray line. The line transforms into various things and keeps the boy company through the years. I think the message will especially resonate more with older readers.
View all my reviews

What now?What now? by Ann Patchett

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been on an Ann Patchett kick recently. This commencement speech asked “What now?” It tells her story of life after college, life as a grown-up, and how seemingly insignificant experiences actually laid the way to her current life. Life is just a string of nows.

View all my reviews

Raymie NightingaleRaymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I like Kate DiCamillo. I like her style, the repeated lines, the eccentric characters. This was an enjoyable read but there seemed to be a lot of little things missing. The characters didn’t seem particularly smart. Some of their actions seemed very cartoonish. I wished DiCamillo had written about other aspects of the characters or maybe alternated amongst the three girls. I’m sure readers will welcome this new novel regardless. Her books are always (almost) a treat!
View all my reviews

To Catch a Cheat (The Great Greene Heist, #2)To Catch a Cheat by Varian Johnson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Once I got past the premise that these were too-cool too-smart characters, I enjoyed The Great Greene Heist. I liked the varied cast of characters and the situations they found themselves in. This sequel continued the Ocean’s 11-lite escapades when Gang Greene find themselves being blackmailed for something they didn’t do. Plus, there may be some rifts happening within. An enjoyable read.
View all my reviews

Yaks Yak: Animal Word PairsYaks Yak: Animal Word Pairs by Linda Sue Park
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Animals act out their names in this fun wordplay picture book of homographs. Includes a glossary in the back including origins.
View all my reviews

Here are some other books I’ve enjoyed but lost the reviews on. You’ll just have to take my word that they’re absolutely worth reading.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “#CelebrateLU- April 1, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    April 2, 2016 at 8:48 am

    Sorry about the lost words-strange! Lots of good books shared Earl. Have a great weekend!

     
  2. crbrunelle

    April 2, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    Tech monsters ate your reviews. They hide in the laptop and gobble words. Okay, that probably doesn’t help, but I have had such things happen. No fun. Thanks for the many reviews that you were able to post. You got to so many books this week! Thanks also for the reminder to be kind to ourselves and others. 🙂

     
  3. Ramona

    April 3, 2016 at 7:42 pm

    Love the cover of Little Banty Chicken and the Big Dream. I know I’m not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I’m requesting it from the library based on the beautiful cover. Sorry for your tech problems. I have a tech problem too. Hoping for a visit from a young man soon who loves to help me troubleshoot these things. Have a great week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
