RSS

Bookstores Visited in the Philippines

03 Apr

During my trip to the Philippines, I got a chance to visit some bookstores.

phone26

National Book Store is the Barnes & Noble equivalent there. It’s where I remembered going to as a kid and teen. There were lots of books in plastic to discourage reading in-store. I went to four locations during my recent trip, sneaking away from my family whenever I saw one so I could check out the store.

books1

I found a picture book biography of one of its founders- Socorro Ramos. It explained why there were lots of school and office supplies in their stores (almost half of their inventory) which practically became the model of bookstores in the Philippines.

I was surprised in the city I grew up were two bookstores. I’m sure I went to them before. They were examples of how it’s mostly (90%?) stationery (because those sell) and there was even a sign in one of them of “No Private Reading.”

books8 books9

books10

One of my final nights in the Philippines, my mom and I went to the Mall of Asia- the world’s third largest mall. And I was beyond thrilled to get to go to three bookstores that night. One was National Book Store. I told you they were everywhere! They had a nice children’s area and I liked their display for Tanahan Books- a Filipino publisher of children’s books!

books5

Another bookstore, which has apparently grown in popularity, that I went to was Fully Booked. This had the traditional feel of a bookstore. It seemed to have more emphasis on books.

books1

I was able to find another book to buy here. And, I guess it’s a security measure, but like in National Bookstore, they would staple the bag shut.

books2

The final bookstore of the night was Book Sale which specialized in used books.

Myra of Gathering Books recommended other bookstores and I wished I had time to visit them all. Maybe next time!

During my Library Hop in the Taiwan airport, I mentioned there were bookstores there as well. It was a really big airport and I got to visit 4 Tuk-Tzu Bookstores, 2 Mind Bookstores and there were 2 iTravel stores which each had a huge book section. It was interesting to see foreign languages of books and which English titles they would have in stock.

 

Leave a Reply

 
