RSS

#IMWAYR- April 3, 2016

03 Apr

This week, I posted: (All of them have book reviews so please check them out!)

-Catch-Up Books Reviews: Part 1, Part 2 & Part 3

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating catching up and moving on.

Bookstores Visited in the Philippines

Let's Play!Let’s Play! by Hervé Tullet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’ve been excited about this book since I heard about it. This was a definite improvement over Mix It Up! and I enjoyed the new interactive element Herve Tullet was able to incorporate.
View all my reviews

Awesome Is EverywhereAwesome Is Everywhere by Neil Pasricha
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A picture book spin off of his Awesome Books, this interactive book has a Press This element. I felt this would also serve as a good relaxation story.
View all my reviews

Normal NormanNormal Norman by Tara Lazar
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoyed the presentation-style of the story. The message of “what is normal anyway?” was hilarious in this cute picture book.
View all my reviews

Smile CrySmile Cry by Tania McCartney
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
In this flip-over picture book, discover the different kinds of moments which makes us smile and cry. Ultimately it’s a celebration of friendship!
View all my reviews

LionheartLionheart by Richard Collingridge
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is my 4th fave picture book of 2016! Great for when life gets a little too scary and helps readers face their own monsters. Pair with the song Not While I’m Around from Sweeney Todd to have an emotional moment.
View all my reviews

Houses Floating HomeHouses Floating Home by Einar Turkowski
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
The illustrations are quite captivating, trying to figure out what they mean in the context of their titles. I didn’t really get it.
View all my reviews

Gordon and TapirGordon and Tapir by Sebastian Meschenmoser
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An odd couple story of two roommates with different personalities and what happens when they finally can no longer live together. I think I enjoyed the illustrations more than the text.
View all my reviews

Middle Grade

BookedBooked by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This year has completely surprised me in terms of what books I’ve ended up liking. You may or may not know how I absolutely didn’t like The Crossover but I was hooked on Booked! I kept wanting to talk about it with someone.

Maybe I knew what to expect with a novel told in verse. But I think the characters were definitely more likable and relatable. And the “corny like Fritos” factor was still there but it worked with Booked.

I would have enjoyed a list of all the books mentioned in this book. And props to Kwame Alexander for being such a literacy advocate!
View all my reviews

Young Adult

The Great American WhateverThe Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I was very conflicted about this LGBT YA novel.

On one hand, I’d read anything Tim Federle writes. I enjoyed his Nate books and he was smart and witty when I saw him speak. And I enjoy any time he narrates a book.

On the other hand, early reviews of this book had it being compared to Holden Caulfield of The Catcher in the Rye and I hated both. It’s what made me associate teen angst with YA and thereby trying to avoid reading anymore.

So, my expectations were high and low at the same time for The Great American Whatever.

People will enjoy Quinn Roberts’s voice and will care enough for him to see if he can survive life’s curve balls. Personally, I can’t relate to skinny good-looking characters “with problems” in books anymore. But I still try to put myself in their shoes anyhow.

I’d also like to point out, even though even I labeled it as LGBT, the core of Quinn’s problems will be something everyone can relate to: trying to figure out one’s role in life’s production where you don’t have all the pages of the script.
View all my reviews

Adult
The Tao of PoohThe Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This has been on my reading radar for awhile now. I love Pooh bear and I thought this this was a cute and clever way to introduce people to Taoist concepts. Reading the excerpts from Milne’s books incorporated within Hoff’s text made me want to reread the former.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot, #10)Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot novels have been consistently diabolical in their ingenuity. I am always in awe of her genius.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- April 3, 2016

  1. Myra GB

    April 4, 2016 at 3:36 am

    Great to see a new Tim Federle novel – granted, I haven’t read the Nate books yet – but I do hope to get to them for our upcoming reading theme. Very intrigued as well to see that you enjoyed Booked – I remember how much you disliked Crossover.

     
  2. Michele

    April 4, 2016 at 6:28 am

    I’m waiting for Tim Federle’s new one at the library. I’m next….
    I enjoyed Booked. I need to reread it this month!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    April 4, 2016 at 9:54 am

    You are making me go back to re-read all the Agatha Christie’s. I do think they’re wonderful, too, and have hooked some non-readers with them. I have the middle-grade books on my list, but don’t know when I’ll get to them, too many others to read! A must read is Let’s Play, and I see that you liked it a lot! Thanks, Earl.

     
  4. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    April 4, 2016 at 10:15 am

    Busy week, wow! Thanks for these. I am really looking forward to both Booked and The Great American Whatever.

     
  5. Jane Whittingham

    April 4, 2016 at 11:08 am

    Yes, I loved Booked too, and I think it will be much more popular in my community than The Crossover – basketball just isn’t a big thing here, but soccer is pretty popular, probably second only to hockey in the hearts of local sports-mad kids.

     
  6. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 4, 2016 at 4:29 pm

    I, too, will read anything Federle writes, so I need to get this one.
    I, like Jane, think Booked will be very popular in my community because soccer is a huge sport, and I think everyone will relate to the story even more than Crossover.
    Thank you for sharing more interactive books–Trent loves them.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 4, 2016 at 6:11 pm

    Your thoughts about Booked are interesting since I felt the opposite. I thought The Crossover was flawless and Booked was just OK. Well, I guess it was more than OK, but it just didn’t wow me the way The Crossover did. I think a lot of that had to do with the fact that Booked is written in 2nd person and I have a really hard time getting into anything written in 2nd person. It’s just so awkward — especially when it’s written as an entire 300 page novel

     
  8. Crystal

    April 5, 2016 at 4:18 pm

    I have been really looking forward to Booked. I’m glad it’s out in the world and I can get to it soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
