RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #114

06 Apr

nfpb2016

What Is Punk?What Is Punk? by Eric Morse
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun introduction to punk music and punk culture with its icons and moments told in verse and depicted with claymation!

View all my reviews

One Day On Our Blue Planet . . . in the SavannahOne Day On Our Blue Planet . . . in the Savannah by Ella Bailey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Flying Eye Books always almost delivers so I’d been meaning to read this book since it first came out. But the illustrations looked too cute-sy and polished for my taste. With that said, I think young readers will like this book. It’s playful and they can try and identify all the animals they find and they’ll learn a little about this habitat and its different creatures. The endpapers include animals who are out and about in the daytime and in the nighttime.

View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #114

  1. Michele

    April 6, 2016 at 8:17 am

    I’ll have to look for the savannah book. I like having a variety of books exploring habitats!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 6, 2016 at 2:59 pm

    What fun to have a picture book about Punk Music. And the One Day book will be good for introducing habitats to young kids. Thanks Earl.

     
  3. annettepimentel

    April 6, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    I was surprised by When the Beat Was Born, too, which was set in the distant (!) 1980s. The punk book feels the same to me.
    But when your audience is 6 years old, that IS ancient history!

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 6, 2016 at 9:57 pm

    I will be getting the punk book for my friend who is obsessed with punk music. Thanks for sharing!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 14, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    I didn’t know about the ONE DAY series, but now I’ve seen one on yours and Carrie’s blog. Thank you to you both for sharing. They look good.

     

Leave a Reply

 
