RSS

#CelebrateLU- April 8, 2016 / Reading Resolutions: Spring Update

08 Apr
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my progress with my Reading Challenges!

Posts of interest:
-Looking Forward
-#MustReadin2016
-My Top 10 Favorite Books of All Time!

I figured keeping a quarterly update on the ones I’m participating in will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Reading Snapshot
Goal: 666 books– Follow me on Goodreads.
189 Books Read in 2016
6 Adult Fiction
11 Adult Non-Fiction
16 Graphic Novels
21 Middle Readers
134 Picture Books
1 Young Adult

mustreadin2016challenge

#MustReadin2016 Goal: 81 books– 25 books read this quarter for a total of 25. Click on my MustReadin2016 post for reviews.
Agatha Christie/ Off the Shelf Goal: 15 books– 4 books read this quarter for a total of 4. Click on my MustReadin2016 post for reviews.
Everybody Reads Reading Challenge- Completed
I read this year’s entry: The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature/ Gene Luen Yang Avatar Reading Challenge Goal: 12 books– 9 books read this quarter for a total of 9. Click on my MustReadin2016 post for reviews.
Patricia Polacco Reading Challenges Goal: 6 books- Completed
Non-Fiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 Goal: 104 books– 30 books read this quarter for a total of 30.

I may have to do a separate post on all the great books I’ve read this year so far!

Commitment to Literacy

I kicked off my volunteering this year during Martin Luther King Jr.’s Weekend of Service. I volunteered for the Fort Vancouver Regional Library Foundation’s 2016 Bookapalooza Three-Day Used Book Sale. What’s cool about it is that it’s my first out of state volunteering (since I live in Portland, Oregon and this was in Vancouver, Washington.) I think I’d like to try and volunteer every time I travel somewhere.

In late March, I started my new regular volunteering with Multnomah County Library’s Early Childhood Initiative program. I stickered Russian books for kids and, while it may sound boring, I loved that there were so many of these books going to communities who would benefit from them!

Readings & Literary Events

-We were fortunate enough to have Patrick Jennings come to our Family Book Club in January. There was a young boy who was a super fan of the author and in his own terms was a “pro-reader!” The boy also had great story ideas and it was great to see an author encourage that and even share some advice. I hope they stay in touch! I love being a bookseller! We discussed Guinea Dog.

-I attended a “Diversity and Inclusion in Young Adult and Children’s Literature” panel put on by Portland State University’s Ooligan Press. You can read a recap of that event here.

-I had my 7th annual Library Hop- this time in Taiwan! Read about it here.

-I visited some bookstores during my Philippines trip. Read about it here.

-I got the opportunity to attend a live radio broadcast of the Oregon Public Broadcasting (OPB) Think Out Loud program. They interviewed Cristina Henriquez as part of Multnomah County Library’s Everybody Reads. I was really impressed seeing how a radio show works. And I was completely enthralled by Cristina Henriquez’s interview which you can listen to here.

-I met The Cat in the Hat as part of our Read Across America celebration!

cat

-Multnomah County Library had a great exhibit at their Collins Gallery, Al-Mutanabbi Street Starts Here! It featured creative responses “to the car bombing of Baghdad’s ancient booksellers’ street on March 5, 2007.” I was really moved by the display featuring the poem, “Ways to Count the Dead” by Persis M. Karim.

lib

The Moth– I recently won tickets to watch a production of The Moth which is a storytelling vehicle of sorts. People come up to share their stories centered around a theme- this show’s theme was Jokers. I admire people putting themselves out there in front of so many people. Some were definitely better than others.

moth

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “#CelebrateLU- April 8, 2016 / Reading Resolutions: Spring Update

  1. newtreemom

    April 9, 2016 at 8:03 am

    Wow, that was a full week! And in one of my favorite places- Portland, OR. I lived the area in the 1970’s and 80’s. My husband worked at the library in addition to being a pastor. We also lived in Battle Ground, WA (near Vancouver).It’s always great reading about places you know.

     
  2. carriegelson

    April 9, 2016 at 11:28 am

    You are making such fantastic progress on all of your reading goals Earl!

     
  3. cvarsalona

    April 10, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    I enjoyed reading your post today Earl and seeing photos of your trips. Have fun this week.

     
  4. Crystal

    April 11, 2016 at 8:33 pm

    I really enjoyed seeing the library in Taiwan and the bookstores in the Philippines. Thanks for sharing your literary travels.

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 14, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    Fantastic progress on all of your goals!
    Love that Cat in the Hat picture!

     

Leave a Reply

 
