RSS

#IMWAYR- April 10, 2016

10 Apr

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my Reading Challenges! #MustReadin2016

Horrible Bear!Horrible Bear! by Ame Dyckman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute book about empathy. A girl accuses a bear of being horrible and storms off only to realize later on she may have been the horrible one.
View all my reviews

The StormThe Storm by Akiko Miyakoshi
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
The illustrations are great but the story was lacking. Sometimes storms continue through the next day.
View all my reviews

Where's the Party?Where’s the Party? by Ruth Chan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this! Because who isn’t secretly a list making cake loving cat who emotionally eats when his friends don’t have time for his shenanigans? This is practically my autobiography. It’s my fifth favorite picture book of 2016!
View all my reviews

Follow the Moon Home: A Tale of One Idea, Twenty Kids, and a Hundred Sea TurtlesFollow the Moon Home: A Tale of One Idea, Twenty Kids, and a Hundred Sea Turtles by Philippe Cousteau
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I wish this were a nonfiction book because I think nfpb-ers would enjoy it. It would make for a great classroom book as well because the story involves finding a problem and tackling it. What makes it especially great is that it asks them to reflect on their actions as well.

In this situation, loggerhead turtle babies are being lured inland by electricity from beach front homes. A girl and her class try to get the turtles to follow the moonlight instead through various methods.

This book encourages kids to be not only problem seekers but problem solvers.
View all my reviews

The Bear and the PianoThe Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
The story may seem familiar- think Mr. Tiger Goes Wild and Lafcadio and maybe even The Trumpet of the Swan- but it still packs an emotional wallop. Great illustrations.
View all my reviews

FlyawayFlyaway by Lesley Barnes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fantastically illustrated story about letting your loved one be free. A chase through the castle and the grounds between a princess and her pet bird will have readers lifting flaps, repeating the refrain, and searching for the hidden items on each spread.
View all my reviews

Little RedLittle Red by Bethan Woollvin
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I liked the illustrations fine but not so much the story. The grandma still just died so there was no reason for Little Red to be so smug about what she did. Oh, I guess, spoiler alert.
View all my reviews

Birdsong: A Story in PicturesBirdsong: A Story in Pictures by James Sturm
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A wordless picture book about two kids being cruel to animals and getting their comeuppance. The most fascinating thing about this was the additional information about Kamishibai—Japanese paper theater!
View all my reviews

Violet and Victor Write the Most Fabulous Fairy TaleViolet and Victor Write the Most Fabulous Fairy Tale by Alice Kuipers
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Cute story about a twin brother-and-sister with different interests. They end up working together on a fairy tale but will they agree on a perfect ending?
View all my reviews

Keep Curious and Carry a Banana: Words of Wisdom from the World of Curious GeorgeKeep Curious and Carry a Banana: Words of Wisdom from the World of Curious George by H.A. Rey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’m not a huge fan of Curious George. I read all the original books for my A to Z Children’s Picture Book Series Challenge. But this collection of life lessons was cute. Paired with original art. Would make for a fun gift for kidlit lovers or graduates.
View all my reviews

Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others DieMade to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An interesting book with tips on how to make ideas stick using the SUCCESs method. Is it Simple? Is it Unexpected? Is it Concrete? Is it Credible? It is Emotional? Is it a Story?
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- April 10, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    April 11, 2016 at 9:05 am

    I just requested The Bear &The Piano & Horrible Bear from my library. Lots of talk about both! Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Michele

    April 11, 2016 at 9:10 am

    I read a few of those picture books too! Loved that spread in Horrible Bear when she realizes maybe it’s not the bear who is so horrible!
    I have a post coming out soon on Follow the Moon Home. Loved it.

     
  3. Myra GB

    April 11, 2016 at 4:35 pm

    I just checked our library database – we still don’t have Follow the Moon Home which is really a shame. I loved The Bear and the Piano – such a gorgeous title.

     
  4. cheriee weichel @ library matters

    April 11, 2016 at 5:36 pm

    Ok, now I absolutes have to read Where’s the Party, if only to learn more about you (sounds a lot like me too!) I’ve put a hold on Follow the Moon Home, but it will be a while since it is on order. How I wish I had unlimited funds to purchase whatever books I wanted for our school library!

     
  5. Jane Whittingham

    April 11, 2016 at 5:49 pm

    I think I seriously need to get my hand on Where’s the Party, I think it hits close to home for a lot of us bookish people! 😉 I second Cheriee’s statement, I wish I could just buy all the books I see on book blogs and love! Usually we get around to buying the most popular titles, but sometimes the delay can seem almost unbearable, when I’m desperate to get my hands on a fantastic new book.

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 11, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    I am definitely intrigued by What is Punk? I just requested it from my library.

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 11, 2016 at 6:46 pm

    I agree with the above commenters! I definitely want to get Where’s the Party? Thanks for sharing!

     
  8. Crystal

    April 11, 2016 at 9:38 pm

    I just read Where’s the Party today – so cute. Did you look under the book jacket? Loved the cover.

     

Leave a Reply

 
