RSS

New Releases: April 12, 2016

12 Apr

Have a Look, Says Book.Have a Look, Says Book. by Richard Jackson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun rhyming read-aloud. Could have used more of a story.
View all my reviews

The WhaleThe Whale by Vita Murrow
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
The illustrations alone will make you pick up this mostly wordless picture books. Newspaper articles gives you a background on what the kids are up to and what happens on their search for an elusive whale.
View all my reviews</a

Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet? by Dan Santat
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This book suffered the too-much-hype syndrome. I had too high of an expectation for it. With that said, it is absolutely a good and fun and entertaining read!
View all my reviews

Tell Me a Tattoo StoryTell Me a Tattoo Story by Alison McGhee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
There’s definitely an audience for this kind of book. A boy wants to know what his dad’s tattoos stand for and the dad happily tells a story of love that will tug at any reader’s heart!
View all my reviews

Playing from the HeartPlaying from the Heart by Peter H. Reynolds
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This was too sentimental even for me. It’s a sweet predictable story.
View all my reviews

Babymouse #20: Babymouse Goes for the GoldBabymouse #20: Babymouse Goes for the Gold by Jennifer L. Holm
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Yay for Babymouse! This is definitely one of the stronger ones in the series. It makes you wishing there were more pages!
View all my reviews

 

One response to “New Releases: April 12, 2016

  1. Kara Newhouse

    April 18, 2016 at 6:56 am

    I’ll keep an eye out for that tattoo book — not something you typically see in children’s books!

     

Leave a Reply

 
