RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #115

13 Apr

nfpb2016

The Kid from Diamond Street: The Extraordinary Story of Baseball Legend Edith HoughtonThe Kid from Diamond Street: The Extraordinary Story of Baseball Legend Edith Houghton by Audrey Vernick
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
What a completely engaging story! Edith Houghton seemed to such a powerhouse both on and off the field. I’m glad her story was told and that she’s getting recognition.
View all my reviews

Dear Pope Francis: The Pope Answers Letters from Children Around the WorldDear Pope Francis: The Pope Answers Letters from Children Around the World by Pope Francis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This is a collection of letters kids wrote to the Pope. I’m not of any particular religion but I did grow up Catholic so some of the answers were odd to me.

One of my favorite responses was when asked what God was doing “before the world was made” the Pope answered, “God was loving. God loved. God always loves. God IS love.” Answers about sins and prayers. Sometimes it takes a child’s innocence to know things.
View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #115

  1. Linda Baie

    April 13, 2016 at 12:16 pm

    That “Kid From Diamond Street” sounds good. There are so many stories we have never heard before that are fabulous! Thanks Earl.

     
  2. Michele

    April 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    I’m on hold for Kid From Diamond Street…. still waiting…..
    The Dear Pope Francis book sounds interesting! What comes from kids’ mouths…

     
  3. crbrunelle

    April 13, 2016 at 8:04 pm

    I have the Dear Pope Francis book at my library and it’s quite popular. I haven’t had a chance to read it, partly because it’s usually checked out.

     
  4. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 14, 2016 at 7:45 pm

    I love the Vernick books I’ve read, but I haven’t read this one. Thank you for sharing both titles.

     

Leave a Reply

 
