RSS

#IMWAYR- April 17, 2016

17 Apr

This week, I posted:

New Releases: April 12, 2016– Read my reviews for:


Happy 100th Beverly Cleary!
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Everybody Needs a RockEverybody Needs a Rock by Byrd Baylor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A customer insisted I read this book when she ended up buying Byrd Baylor books and it’s now a book I can see myself recommending to others. Ten rules of finding the perfect rock. Great illustrations. Beautiful simplicity.
View all my reviews

Maybe Something Beautiful: How Art Transformed a NeighborhoodMaybe Something Beautiful: How Art Transformed a Neighborhood by F. Isabel Campoy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Based on a true story. I loved how art helped bring a community together. I see this around in Portland (Oregon) and I’m definitely going to be recommending this to lots of our customers!
View all my reviews

Good Night OwlGood Night Owl by Greg Pizzoli
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
While I didn’t really like the book and absolutely didn’t like the mouse character, I can see how this would be a fun read aloud for kids with its refrain and silly manic illustrations.
View all my reviews

Twenty YawnsTwenty Yawns by Jane Smiley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Super cute illustrations. I just didn’t care about the second half of the story.
View all my reviews

Grandad's IslandGrandad’s Island by Benji Davies
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A tender tale of a boy and his grandfather and an adventure they take together that changes everything.
View all my reviews

Space Case (Moon Base Alpha #1)Space Case by Stuart Gibbs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
It’s a murder mystery set in outer space, y’all!

This is a perfect read for ages 9 and up because there’s lots of danger and intrigue. Right off the bat, readers will enjoy the voice of our main character and how he finds himself involved with a crime that everyone else seems to not be acknowledging. The ending leaves lots to think about. Luckily there’s a sequel already!
View all my reviews

Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being CreativeSteal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative by Austin Kleon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Some insights that stuck with me:
-Read bibliographies. It’s not the book you start with; it’s the book that leads you to.
-Write what you like.
-The manifesto is this: Draw the art you want to see, start the business you want to run, play the music you want to hear, write the books you want to read, build the products you want to use- do the work you want to see done.
-Keep all your passions in your life.
-Keep a log book.

There was another passage that I wrote down but I couldn’t read my note. It started with, “Study everything there is to know about them.” And I guess it goes off to say to then find three people they admire and find out all there is know about them.

This quick read is great to have for instant motivations.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “#IMWAYR- April 17, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    April 18, 2016 at 6:24 am

    The Whale has such an enticing cover, a must find! I’ve loved Byrd Baylor books for a long time, glad you found this one! Will look for the “bring an alligator to school”. I’m sure my granddaughters will love that one! Thanks, Laura!

     
    • Linda Baie

      April 18, 2016 at 6:26 am

      Sorry Earl, Mixed up to whom I was commenting! Feel free to delete!

       
  2. Michele

    April 18, 2016 at 6:27 am

    I really liked Maybe Something Beautiful. It’s one I’ll probably add to my Mock Caldecott in the fall!
    Babymouse was so fun since we are at the pool for swim team practice 6 days/week! I recognized many things in that one!

     
  3. Kara Newhouse

    April 18, 2016 at 6:59 am

    Second review of “The Kid from Diamond Street” that I’ve seen today! I need to check it out. Goes well with the other nonfiction baseball books I’ve been reading recently.

     
  4. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    April 18, 2016 at 10:12 am

    Excited about Space Case! I have several major Stuart Gibbs fans among my students. Thanks!

     
  5. Tammy and Clare

    April 18, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    Are We There Yet looks hysterical – We have to get that one ASAP!

     
  6. Cheriee Weichel @ Library Matters

    April 18, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I have ordered 2 copies of Babymouse Goes for the Gold (from an independent book seller) I should probably get 3 or 4. Babymouse is very popular. I thought we already had Space Case but apparently, I was wrong. I’ve added Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative to my for later shelf.

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 18, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    I loved Steal Like an Artist. His second book Show Your Work is fantastic too.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 18, 2016 at 6:13 pm

    My son loves Twenty Yawns. I’ve read it about 100 times. It is nice to read what others think about it.

     
  9. Crystal

    April 18, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    I am eager to read Maybe Something Beautiful. I enjoy Rafael Lopez’s art.

     
  10. Myra GB

    April 18, 2016 at 8:57 pm

    The Whale is one of my new favourites. I have yet to find Twenty Yawns. The Kid from Diamond Street also caught my eye. I think I have Everybody Needs a rock – have you read Annie and the Old one yet? Illustrated by the same artist. 🙂

     
  11. ejmam

    April 22, 2016 at 11:21 pm

    I like your swift appraisals of the books; it gives me a sense of what you like and what the book does.

     

Leave a Reply

 
