RSS

(192) #IMWAYR- April 24, 2016

24 Apr

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my writing.

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

The Great JourneyThe Great Journey by Agathe Demois
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I usually don’t like gimmick books but I liked this one. We follow a migrating bird and readers can use the magic viewfinder included with this picture book to discover what else is hidden in the illustrations. Readers will be surprised at what they find!
View all my reviews

Knock! Knock!Knock! Knock! by Kaori Takahashi
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
You haven’t read a book like this before. A little girl searches for her missing bear by knocking door to door in her apartment building. Readers will delight in how the story unfolds. This may be a better reading experience for kids ages 5 and up since even I took a moment to figure out how to read this book.
View all my reviews

Cookies: Bite-Size Life LessonsCookies: Bite-Size Life Lessons by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Readers will enjoy these life lessons as much as they enjoy eating cookies! Fun way to learn vocabulary!
View all my reviews

Teachers Rock!Teachers Rock! by Todd Parr
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I think this is my first Todd Parr book and I’m glad it celebrates the awesomeness of teachers. His style is definitely not for everyone but lots of people love it. The dustjacket folds out into a poster.
View all my reviews

Lizbeth Lou Got a Rock in Her ShoeLizbeth Lou Got a Rock in Her Shoe by Troy Howell
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
The cut-paper illustrations alone will be enough to grab the reader’s attention. This circular tale will delight readers as they follow the journey of a thrown rock.
View all my reviews

The Wild RobotThe Wild Robot by Peter Brown
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This has been one of my favorite titles to recommend at the store. First I let customers know it’s by Peter Brown who they usually know from his picture books and they’re surprised he’s written a middle grade novel.

Then I tell them it’s about a female robot who gets stranded in an island and tries to fit in with the animals. She becomes the mother to a gosling. It’s like Hatchet but not as intense.

There are pages of his beautiful signature illustrations.
View all my reviews

Rutabaga the Adventure Chef: Book 1Rutabaga the Adventure Chef: Book 1 by Eric Colossal
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fun cute graphic novel series. Cute illustrations. A nice blend of adventure, humor, and cooking- and includes recipes.
View all my reviews

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant (Delilah Dirk, #1)Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This series would be great to recommend to adventure seekers especially featuring a firecracker female character and her unlikely friendship/partnership with a mild tea-loving lieutenant.
View all my reviews

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “(192) #IMWAYR- April 24, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    April 25, 2016 at 5:54 am

    I guess I’d better find The Wild Robot soon. Everyone is liking it quite a lot! Among others, Lizbeth Loo. . . sounds very cute. Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Cheriee Weichel

    April 25, 2016 at 6:26 am

    I enjoy reading your honest reviews Earl. I’ve ordered The Wild Robot from our library wholesaler. I think it will be arriving some time this week and I’m really looking forward to reading it. Good luck with the writing!

     
  3. Jane Whittingham

    April 25, 2016 at 9:43 am

    I also know Peter Brown for his picture books, so I was surprised and excited to find out about his middle years novel, too! Good luck with the writing, keep your chin up! 🙂

     
  4. Michele

    April 25, 2016 at 5:31 pm

    I can’t see a hedgehog book without thinking about Lauren Castillo!
    I really enjoyed The Wild Robot – so different than I thought it would be!

     
  5. Crystal

    April 25, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    I’m excited to read The Wild Robot. I don’t know when I’ll get to it, but maybe this summer.

     
  6. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    April 26, 2016 at 4:38 am

    The Wild Robot looks like such a fun read. I hope our library gets it soon.

     
  7. Myra GB

    April 27, 2016 at 4:51 am

    I didn’t realize that Wild Robot is a middle grade novel. Hmm.. That makes it even more interesting.
    I also generally do not review books that I don’t particularly care for.

     

Leave a Reply

 
