RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #117

27 Apr

nfpb2016

Out of the Woods: A True Story of an Unforgettable EventOut of the Woods: A True Story of an Unforgettable Event by Rebecca Bond
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this since lots of nfpb-ers have raved about it. First of all, I was quite taken in by the illustrations. Definitely a beautiful book. And the story is fascinating, told down from one generation to another. You can almost feel the magic (specialness) of the moment.
View all my reviews

As Good as AnybodyAs Good as Anybody by Richard Michelson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
There have been lots of picture books about Martin Luther King, Jr. and I enjoyed this one because it featured another important person who fought for human rights. They lead different lives but marched together to battle injustice for all. I love Raul Colon’s illustrations.
View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #117

  1. Linda Baie

    April 27, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    I bought Out of The Woods, love it a lot. Quite a story, isn’t it? Thanks for the next book, As Good As Anybody, too, Earl. Wow, it too looks great.

     
  2. Michele

    April 27, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    Raul Colon’s illustrations always stand out – I can imagine what they do for a book about this important topic!
    I really enjoyed Out of the Woods too. It wasn’t what I expected it to be.

     
  3. annettepimentel

    April 29, 2016 at 10:39 am

    Out of the Woods astonished me. The images stay with me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
