RSS

#IMWAYR- May 1, 2016

01 May

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Gene Luen Yang! Read reviews of all his books including my recent reads and reread of:

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

OutfoxedOutfoxed by Claudia Boldt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’m really glad I finally read this picture book. We’ve had it on display for awhile. I love mysteries and this was a cute one about a fox detective trying to find a chicken he doesn’t want to eat. Fans of Mother Bruce will enjoy this equally entertaining story.
View all my reviews

Bob the ArtistBob the Artist by Marion Deuchars
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is my new favorite picture book of 2016. I just fell in love with the summary: Bob’s skinny legs are making him feel so sad. But what can he do?

Readers will celebrate their individuality, solve problems in a different way, and learn a little bit about art along the way!
View all my reviews

The Case of the Girl in Grey (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency #2)The Case of the Girl in Grey by Jordan Stratford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’ve really grown to enjoy this series about two strong-willed smart young girls based on actual historical female trailblazers. I think readers who end up enjoying these books will want to read about Mary Shelley, Ada Lovelace, Charles Dickens, and everyone else mentioned. A glossary is included in the back. I don’t really care about facts so it didn’t bother me much about how things were manipulated to make the story works. Plus, the author mentions this right off the bat. The thing I didn’t like about this was I was having such a hard time remembering how old the characters were supposed to be because of the situations they found themselves in.
View all my reviews

Rutabaga the Adventure Chef: Book 2: Feasts of FuryRutabaga the Adventure Chef: Book 2: Feasts of Fury by Eric Colossal
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun addition to Rutabaga’s culinary adventures. I enjoyed the side adventures in this one and I’m glad there was a coherent thread between the two books.
View all my reviews

The Sleeper and the SpindleThe Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Despite having read many of his books (mostly picture books and about a few of his novels), I’m still surprised when I find myself liking his work. And this one was so good! Familiar fairy tales are wonderfully reimagined in The Sleeper and the Spindle. You think you know what’s going to happen but you’ll be in for a surprise. The illustrations are great. I would say this is good for readers 12 and up.
View all my reviews

How to Raise $500 to $5,000 from Almost Anyone: A 1-Hour Guide for Board Members, Volunteers, and StaffHow to Raise $500 to $5,000 from Almost Anyone: A 1-Hour Guide for Board Members, Volunteers, and Staff by Andy Robinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A quick read full of easy to apply tips on fundraising. It’s definitely psychological how we approach money and we need to change our relationship with money. Asking for money even for a cause I’m passionate about is still difficult for me. This would be a good book to have to go back to. I love this quote in the book: I can’t do everything but I can do something to help somebody. And what I can do, I will do. I wish I can do more.- Oseola McCarty
View all my reviews

Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get DiscoveredShow Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered by Austin Kleon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I didn’t like this one as much as Steal Like an Artist but it still includes fantastic insights everyone can use. I love the idea of showing and sharing your work.
View all my reviews

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- May 1, 2016

  1. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 2, 2016 at 5:04 am

    Thanks for posting about Prime Baby. I had never heard of that title before. I just requested it at my library.

     
  2. Michele

    May 2, 2016 at 6:29 am

    I haven’t heard of Prime Baby either! I need to read The Rutabaga graphic novels. I have the first one but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. The Wollstonecraft series looks interesting. I may need to check it out at some point.

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    May 2, 2016 at 6:35 am

    I am also a Gene Yuen Lang fan Earl. It was American Born Chinese that opened my eyes to what a graphic novel could bring to literature. I’ve had kids take out a copy and bring it back very very late only to tell me that everyone in their family had to read it. The Sleeper and the Spindle is one I hope to get to soon.

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    May 2, 2016 at 6:41 am

    I will be getting Bob the Artist, for sure, after your review! I love books about individuality!

     
  5. Linda Baie

    May 2, 2016 at 6:44 am

    Thanks for all, Earl. I love Neil Gaiman, so The Sleeper and The Spindle will be looked for. That mystery series sounds interesting, too.

     
  6. Jane Whittingham

    May 2, 2016 at 8:37 am

    I’ve never heard of Bob the Artist, but I want to request it at the library now! I always learn about new titles from your posts, thanks for sharing them.

     
  7. Myra GB

    May 2, 2016 at 10:18 pm

    I definitely enjoyed Sleeper and the Spindle more than Gaiman’s Hansel and Gretel – the latter is not so much a retelling as telling the exact same story using different words – but Mattotti’s art was just breathtaking, as is Riddell’s art in Sleeper and the Spindle.

     
  8. Crystal

    May 3, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    I’ll have to find Bob the Artist. It looks like a great one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
