RSS

#CelebrateLU- May 6, 2016

06 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating nice moments with friends throughout the week.

pip1

One day, my friend and I met up to try a donut place I’ve been wanting to try- Pip’s Original. Tiny donuts of different flavors. They were delicious. The chocolate ones were my favorites.

pip

After that, I gave her a tour of Beverly Cleary’s neighborhood. Living in Portland, we’re fortunate enough to see some of the places she wrote about in her books.

We went to a couple of houses she lived in growing up, the Beverly Cleary School, and passed by the spot where Ramona’s boots got stuck in the mud.

We ended up at Grant Park at the Beverly Cleary Sculpture Garden where there are statues of her characters and we posed with Ramona, Henry and Ribsy, before having some playground fun. Luckily there were no kids around because that would have been weird!

Along the way, we saw some great Little Free Libraries and Poetry posts. It was a fun literary day.

Then later that day, I decided to volunteer with the Friends of the Library Used Book Sale. Although my term as a board member ended last year, I’m still a big supporter of what they do to help our awesome library!

To read about previous Beverly Cleary celebrations, click here.

This past Saturday was Independent Bookstore Day. I was able to buy an exclusive release of a book which I’m giving as a gift to someone in a few months. It was a good day at our store as well. Thank you to everyone who supported an independent bookstore that day- and those who support them every day! This bookseller is very happy!

ibd

What are you celebrating this week?

 

10 responses to “#CelebrateLU- May 6, 2016

  1. Ramona

    May 6, 2016 at 10:44 pm

    Love the pics and poses in the Beverly Cleary sculpture garden. I shopped at my fave indie bookstore last week (and got a free ARC of Booked)! I’ve seen lots of Little Free Libraries, but Poetry Posts are new to me.

     
  2. Loralee

    May 7, 2016 at 2:18 am

    What wonderful moments! Enjoyed the pictures!

     
  3. Bernadette

    May 7, 2016 at 3:34 am

    What a fun, whimsical afternoon you had. You are fortunate to have a friend to share such a time with.

     
  4. Tara Smith

    May 7, 2016 at 4:53 am

    Such fun! I loved the tour of Beverly Cleary’s neighborhood, too.

     
  5. Linda Baie

    May 7, 2016 at 6:38 am

    I didn’t know there was a Beverly Cleary neighborhood, & statues! What fun that looks like, Earl. I just gave the Thank You book to the grand-girls this week. It is wonderful. And those donuts-yum! Now I wish Portland was a bit closer!

     
  6. Ruth Ayres

    May 7, 2016 at 11:10 am

    What a perfect celebration! And, now, I must go read a Ramona book!

     
  7. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    May 8, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    Ohmigosh, I love this!!!! I so need to come and visit. I love Ramona. I haven’t read any Beverly Clearly with my kids yet…now that my youngest is almost done with kindergarten, I think they both might enjoy her. And I have a donut picture book story that has been slowly simmering in my head for a year or two so I might head over to Pip’s website to look at the types of donuts they have for some inspiration!

     
  8. crbrunelle

    May 8, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    How fun to have such a cool sculpture garden nearby. So nice to have time to share that with a friend too. The donuts look scrumptious.

     
  9. Michele

    May 9, 2016 at 6:27 am

    I love the pictures! I guess I didn’t realize that Beverly Cleary was from there. I should go back and reread some Ramona books. I love them and I love reading them out loud. But I’ve never found kids that really love those books 😦

     
  10. cvarsalona

    May 10, 2016 at 2:30 pm

    I enjoy seeing Free Libraries. I found one in Virginia when I visited my daughter last weekend. I never saw a Poetry Post and would love to know what those are. I am glad that you enjoyed your week and the donuts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
