RSS

#IMWAYR- May 8, 2016

08 May

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating nice moments with friends throughout the week.

-I updated my Pics with Authors album on this blog’s Facebook page.

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

The Thank You Book (Elephant & Piggie,)The Thank You Book by Mo Willems
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A bittersweet finale to a great series that has made millions of readers- young and old- laugh as they follow the adventures of two friends. Piggie wants to thank everyone but Gerald feels she’ll forget someone special in the process. Will she? And who will it be?
View all my reviews

This Is Not a Picture Book!This Is Not a Picture Book! by Sergio Ruzzier
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Perfect for young readers. The adorable illustrations tells the story of how words and reading affects us. The endpapers actually tells a more descriptive story- and there are actual pictures in this book. Don’t expect The Book with No Pictures.
View all my reviews

Flora and the PeacocksFlora and the Peacocks by Molly Idle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Two’s company, three’s a crowd in Molly Idle’s latest picture book featuring Flora. Befriending two peacocks turns out to be more difficult than she anticipated and arguments ensue in this charming interactive book. Beautiful illustrations throughout reveal a wonderful surprise.
View all my reviews

There Is a Tribe of KidsThere Is a Tribe of Kids by Lane Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Gosh, this feels like a special book. A beautifully drawn and told story of a kid encountering different animals in his quest to find where he belongs.
View all my reviews

Ida, AlwaysIda, Always by Caron Levis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Ida, Always is a moving reminder that those we’ve lost are never really gone. Based on two real life bears.
View all my reviews

Don't Throw It to Mo!Don’t Throw It to Mo! by David A. Adler
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Don’t Throw it to Mo is a cute enough book about proving others wrong. Bigger, older football players don’t think much of Mo until he surprises them all. Great for sports fans (which I’m not) but I didn’t like the fact it seemed to undermine the “there’s no I in team” philosophy.
View all my reviews

Monster & SonMonster & Son by David LaRochelle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Surprisingly tended book perfect for Father’s Day! All sorts of monsters bond and have all sort of good times in this picture book that isn’t too sweet or too scary.
View all my reviews

Mr. Hulot at the BeachMr. Hulot at the Beach by David Merveille
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A follow-up to this wordless picture book series based on a Mr. Bean kind of character this time focusing on Mr. Hulot’s misadventures at the beach.
View all my reviews

A Fire Truck Named RedA Fire Truck Named Red by Randall de Sève
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I didn’t think I would like this but it was actually a fun story of a boy and his granddad bonding over a toy. It wasn’t the new shiny fire truck the boy wanted but after hearing all the fun his grandfather had with it when he was a kid, the boy learns to appreciate it more!
View all my reviews

Black DogBlack Dog by Levi Pinfold
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This picture book was recommended to me. I loved the art and design in this one. Readers will appreciate the details in the illustrations. The story was good. I didn’t particularly like the second half of the book though.
View all my reviews

Move!Move! by Lolly Hopwood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fans of Press Here will enjoy this equally interactive book that will encourage young readers to move and imagine all the fun things this book could be. As a bookseller, I hope customers will be extra careful with some of the instructions if they haven’t bought the book yet!
View all my reviews

The Care and Feeding of an Independent Bookstore: Three Instructive EssaysThe Care and Feeding of an Independent Bookstore: Three Instructive Essays by Ann Patchett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
As a bookseller, I’ve been mildly obsessed with Ann Patchett recently. I love her writer turned bookstore owner/ bookseller story and everything she’s been doing to promote not only her store but all independent bookstores. This was an exclusive release for Independent Bookstore Day.
View all my reviews

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “#IMWAYR- May 8, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    May 9, 2016 at 6:04 am

    I forgot to include The Thank You Book this week, ordered it and have already given it to my granddaughters. What a sweet ending to that series! I am intrigued by the Ann Patchett book, will look for that one, Earl. And, There Is A Tribe of Kids certainly sounds interesting. Thank you, and have a great week!

     
  2. Michele

    May 9, 2016 at 6:28 am

    Great picture books! There is a Tribe of Kids is on my hold list at the library. I’m getting the Doughnut story today. I’m thinking kids may like that one!

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    May 9, 2016 at 7:13 am

    I am also an Ann Patchett Fan Earl, so I will have to find and read The Care and Feeding of the Independent Book Store. I’m waiting for The Thank You book. It will be a bit heartbreaking I think. Two other books here strike my fancy, There Is a Tribe of Kids (love Lane Smith) and Monster & Son)

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 9, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    Looking forward to both The Thank You Book and Flora and the Peacocks, neither of which are available at my library yet.

     
  5. Crystal @ Reading Through Life

    May 10, 2016 at 5:15 pm

    I read The Thank You Book and thought it was the perfect ending, but I am sad to say goodbye to Piggie and Elephant.

     

Leave a Reply

 
