RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #119

11 May

nfpb2016

Whoosh!: Lonnie Johnson's Super-Soaking Stream of InventionsWhoosh!: Lonnie Johnson’s Super-Soaking Stream of Inventions by Chris Barton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Whoosh! tells the story of the inventor of the Super Soaker, a toy even I played with as a kid. Readers will appreciate Lonnie Johnson’s don’t-give -up attitude. I enjoyed reading the fact that one of the reasons this book was written was so people can see that an inventor can look like anyone not just the standard image of an old white guy with crazy hair.
View all my reviews

Science Comics: Coral Reefs: Cities of the OceanScience Comics: Coral Reefs: Cities of the Ocean by Maris Wicks
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’m so glad I read the Dinosaur book first in this new series because that one was good. This felt more textbooksy and I couldn’t care enough to even remember what I just read. But the subject matter was very fascinating. As a friend said, if the subject matter was broader it could have actually been better.
View all my reviews

And stay tuned for Friday’s post as I celebrate an entire series of nonfiction graphic novels.

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #119

  1. annettepimentel

    May 11, 2016 at 9:13 am

    I just noticed on my podcast feed an interview with Maris Wicks on The Yarn. Looking forward to it!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    May 11, 2016 at 11:45 am

    Whoosh sounds good, and others are saying good things, too! Too bad about the coral reefs book. It’s a fascinating and important topic.

     
  3. Michele

    May 11, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    I loved Whoosh – so many connections to teaching today.
    I ordered Dinosaurs and the Coral Reefs books in April. My daughter, who abhors nonfiction, read the Coral Reefs book and liked it. The next one is going to be about volcanoes!

     
  4. Myra GB

    May 12, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    Whoosh looks like one I should definitely check out once available in our libraries. 🙂

     
  5. Crystal @ Reading Through Life

    May 14, 2016 at 8:39 am

    Whoosh! is one I am definitely getting. Coral Reefs looks good too. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
