RSS

#IMWAYR- May 15, 2016

15 May

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Emily Arrow and Peter and the Starcatcher.

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.Shrek!Shrek! by William Steig
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Of course, I was familiar with the movie. And I’d been wanting to read this for awhile. I was surprised how different the book and the movie were from one another- and that’s a good thing. I like how this story is unapologetically monstrous.
View all my reviews

Chuck and WoodchuckChuck and Woodchuck by Cece Bell
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A quirky friendship tale in Chuck and Woodchuck that will leave its readers smiling.
View all my reviews

Thunder Boy Jr.Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Wow! This is a book I’d been wanting to read since I knew they were working together and the book managed to live up to all the expectations. Great father and son tale about finding one’s own identity within the family structure. Run- don’t walk- to your nearest independent bookstore to get a copy!
View all my reviews

Happy in Our SkinHappy in Our Skin by Fran Manushkin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A celebration of diversity, individuality and family.
View all my reviews

I read this awhile ago but I lost the review. However, I really think this is one of the best books of the year, so I decided to write another review.

Hour of the BeesHour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This book reminded me of Tuck Everlasting, which is kind of misleading since I didn’t like that book but enjoyed this one. A girl and her family end up staying with her grandfather over the summer as they help him with his dementia. She wonders if her friendships can survive the distance and where she fits in with her family who are close at hand but feel distant. And then her grandfather begins telling her a story about a magical tree and she’s torn between believing in it or just treating it as a fairy tale.
View all my reviews

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “#IMWAYR- May 15, 2016

  1. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    May 16, 2016 at 3:30 am

    I saw Thunder Boy, Jr. at the bookstore, but didn’t pick it up. Now I’m sorry I didn’t! I’ve now put it on my reading list.

     
  2. Tammy and Clare

    May 16, 2016 at 3:57 am

    A few people are blogging about Thunder Boy Jr. today – This is going to the top of our TBR pile

     
  3. Linda Baie

    May 16, 2016 at 5:51 am

    Wow, a Shrek book! Fun that it’s a new story, too. Thanks for sharing that you liked Thunder Boy. Lots of praise for it from many! Thanks for sharing Happy In Our Skin-will look for it, Earl. Hour of The Bees is definitely on my list! Have a great week!

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    May 16, 2016 at 6:23 am

    I think everyone is talking about Thunder Boy Jr. this week. I’ll have to check it out. Come see what I read last week. Happy reading!

     
  5. Tara Smith

    May 16, 2016 at 2:44 pm

    LOVED Hour of the Bees – and I agree with your review policy – I only blog about books I love, too. It’s so much more fun to be positive, isn’t it?

     
  6. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    May 16, 2016 at 5:34 pm

    I love Cece Bell, but I didn’t know about this one–thank you!
    I have two students reading Hour of Bees, and they both are loving it!
    And I need to get Thunder Boy Jr. I love Alexie, and so many of my blog friends are enjoying it.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 16, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    I loved The Hour of the Bees. In fact, it’s one of those books that the more you think about it, the more you love it. Such an amazing book.

     
  8. Cheriee Weichel

    May 16, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    I adored Hour of the Bees. Thunder Boy just arrived but I haven’t had time to read it yet. I have been reading Debbie Reese’s blog posts about it though. That issue about how readers from inside and outside a culture interpret a book is fascinating. I read Shrek ages ago and loved it. I was shocked when I saw the movie – it is a totally different story. (I like the book better)

     
  9. Michele

    May 17, 2016 at 7:15 am

    Loved Hour of the Bees! It’s books like this that make me wish I taught older kids! It’s a bit much for my 4th graders (who are reading intervention kids!)

     
  10. Akilah

    May 18, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    You’re the second person I’ve heard speak favorably of Hour of the Bees. I’ve added it to my TBR. You know, I still haven’t read Shrek yet? I should get on that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
