RSS

#IMWAYR- May 29, 2016

29 May

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for Doreen Rappaport’s Big Words Biographies series.

How to Find GoldHow to Find Gold by Viviane Schwarz
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute friendship story between a girl and a crocodile in search of adventure. With the help of their imagination, they find the treasure they seek. This would make for a good read aloud with lots of opportunities to interact with the readers.
View all my reviews

An Armadillo in New YorkAn Armadillo in New York by Julie Kraulis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I was surprised to see this companion to An Armadillo in Paris. Readers will enjoy their trip around New York as they try to uncover who Lady Liberty is. It’ll be interesting where else this series will take us.
View all my reviews

The White Cat and the Monk: A Retelling of the Poem The White Cat and the Monk: A Retelling of the Poem “Pangur Bán” by Jo Ellen Bogart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An illustrated retelling of an Irish poem by an anonymous Irish monk. Great illustrations. Might be a good pairing with Kevin Henkes’ Waiting.
View all my reviews

Winnie-the-Pooh and the Royal BirthdayWinnie-the-Pooh and the Royal Birthday by A.A. Milne

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Not bad! At first, I was worried that the charm of the original stories would be tarnished but there’s definitely enough nostalgia and sweetness here to please new and old fans alike! Happy Birthday Pooh and Queen Elizabeth too!

View all my reviews

Mini Myths board books introduces the youngest readers to mythology by putting the classic characters into toddler/preschool situations. Information about the actual myths are included. I love how playful the illustrations are. It’s interesting to see what kind of plot lines they come up with.

Douglas, You Need Glasses!Douglas, You Need Glasses! by Ged Adamson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This would make for a great story time book. It’s about a near-sighted dog and his misadventures not being to see clearly. Kids who are worried that they need to wear glasses might get comfort in this funny tale.
View all my reviews

Before I Wake UpBefore I Wake Up by Britta Teckentrup
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This is one of those gorgeous picture books that would probably have worked better as a wordless one. The concept is sweet and charming.
View all my reviews

The Cabinet of Earths (Maya and Valko, #1)The Cabinet of Earths by Anne Nesbet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An enjoyable fantasy middle grade that incorporates science and magic, sibling rivalry, and immortality. Readers will enjoy the Paris setting. And this would make for a book club pic since readers can discuss family history stories.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- May 29, 2016

  1. Crystal @ Reading Through Life

    May 29, 2016 at 10:24 pm

    I’ve worn glasses for many, many years. I think I’ll be watching for Douglas You Need Glasses! Thanks.

     
  2. cmargocs

    May 30, 2016 at 5:01 am

    Clipping this post for recommendations for my elementary library. I especially want to read The Cabinet of Earths–thanks!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    May 30, 2016 at 5:07 am

    Douglas You Need Glasses will fit quite a few young children, rather dismayed that they now have to wear them, and take care of them! Thanks again for sharing so many new to me, Earl.

     
  4. Cheriee Weichel

    May 30, 2016 at 6:58 am

    I will have to get Douglas You Need Glasses, but usually when a student comes in wearing new glasses, I just welcome them to the club of cool.

     
  5. Jana Eschner (@JanaTheTeacher)

    May 30, 2016 at 7:40 am

    I loved your list of Doreen Rappaport books! I’ve shared Martin’s Big Words with students, but now I want to get my hands on some of the others as well. Your picture book list is terrific too. I’ve ordered How to Find Gold & Douglas, You Need Glasses! from my local library. So I should be getting them just in time to start my Summer of Reading! Have a great week!

     
  6. Jane Whittingham

    May 30, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Well, it’s good to hear that the new Winnie the Pooh story isn’t too terrible, to be honest I didn’t have very high hopes for it, especially since I loved Winnie the Pooh when I was growing up!

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 30, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    So I think I have to check out those Mini Myths books. I have a major aversion to mythology… ever since my 6th grade teacher made us learn and memorize the gods and goddesses through a series of incredibly boring worksheets. Whenever I come across any sort of mythological theme in a book, I have the literary equivalent to an allergic reaction. Perhaps by taking baby steps (tee hee) I might be able to find an interest in mythology someday.

     
  8. Myra GB

    May 31, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    The White Cat and the Monk looks really good – been meaning to borrow that from our library for awhile now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
