RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #122

01 Jun

nfpb2016

Animals Are DeliciousAnimals Are Delicious by Dave Ladd
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A box set of 3 accordion style books that reveal food cycles in different habitats in land, air and water. One side follows the trail of who eats who while the flip side gives more information about the plant/animal/insect.
View all my reviews

Elizabeth Started All the TroubleElizabeth Started All the Trouble by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Amazing story of how long women fought for their right to vote. It really hasn’t been that long when one thinks about it. And the sad part is that there still isn’t equality between men and women. So the fight continues and these women are inspirations.
View all my reviews

To Go Singing Through the World: The Childhood of Pablo NerudaTo Go Singing Through the World: The Childhood of Pablo Neruda by Deborah Kogan Ray
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
An absolutely beautiful book that tells the story of Pablo Neruda’s childhood and the places and people that/who inspired him to be a poet. I love that excerpts of his poetry are included in the text. I wouldn’t mind a continuing tale in this format. That would be cool- a nonfiction picture book series of one person.
View all my reviews

Crossing Niagara: The Death-Defying Tightrope Adventures of the Great BlondinCrossing Niagara: The Death-Defying Tightrope Adventures of the Great Blondin by Matt Tavares
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
While I enjoyed the art and the story, I think there was too much hype surrounding it that dulled my liking of it. Plus, as incredible as the achievements were, it also seemed too incredible to believe even though this is non-fiction.
View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #122

  1. annettepimentel

    June 1, 2016 at 10:29 am

    Animals Are Delicious…what a great title!

     
  2. Jane Whittingham

    June 1, 2016 at 10:42 am

    It’s true when you think about it, women have had the vote for such a short amount of time in the grand scheme of things, and there’s still so much work to be done. Thank you for sharing this title!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    June 1, 2016 at 11:52 am

    I’ve never seen that Neruda book and will certainly find it, Earl. It sounds good, and I love the idea of a picture book series about the same person. Do you know Pam Munoz Ryan’s The Dreamer, about Neruda. It’s very good. I still need to read Crossing Niagara-fascinating that people really do that!

     
  4. Michele

    June 1, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    I really enjoyed the Tavares book. His illustrations are always so fun.

     
  5. Crystal @ Reading Through Life

    June 1, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    I will definitely be looking for the Neruda book. It’s sounds excellent.

     

Leave a Reply

 
