RSS

#CelebrateLU- June 3, 2016

03 Jun
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This June, I’m celebrating Pride- in more ways than one.

The history of the LGBT community- with all its battles and victories, its highs and lows, its setbacks and accomplishments- and the fight for a more inclusive and accepting future are spotlighted the whole month.

I came out almost four years ago– although I knew I was gay since I was a young kid- and, sadly, I can’t claim to be the proud gay man I thought I would be, that I want to be. The blame is all on me. I am throwing away the absurd idea that there’s a handbook that explains everything I’d need to be gay. I’m going to figure it out- at least, my definition and vision of it. And, in order for me to do that, I need to have pride in myself. And, I don’t mean pride in just that (being gay) but as a human being.

So, Pride is my focus for the month. As you may know by now if you’re reading this, I love setting up monthly challenges. It’s been awhile since I did one and actually followed it through completion. One of the things that kept me from doing so is that the challenges or goals I’ve set up were too vague. A true goal needs to be quantifiable or measured in a way to know if it was accomplished or not.

LGBT Pride
My intention is not to be all up in people’s faces about being gay but I also don’t want to be ashamed of such a large important aspect of what makes me who I am. I’m excited that I’ll be attending my first Pride parade here in Portland. I’ll just be watching it since I’ll feel like such a hypocrite if I decide to march in it when I’m not as proud as I can be about who I am- yet.
On the other hand, I do feel that visibility (even within the small circle of people who know me) is important. Even I need to remind myself that within the LGBT community, there’s a whole spectrum of identities. We don’t all fit into one mold.
-Read books and watch films tackling LGBT issues and history.
-Read books by LGBT authors.
-Showcase a video or text throughout the month of the LGBT community.
-Attend Pride Parade June 19th.

Writing
Pride in oneself requires self-care. It sounds selfish but it isn’t. It’s not the same as being self-centered. When you take care of yourself, you’re in a much better position to help others. I’m also trying to apply the following principle into my life: Make time for the things that are important to you.
-Instead of coming up with new ideas, flesh out the ones I’ve already come up with.
-Set up Writer Hour every day to work on stories (and not blogging) and an extra hour on days off plus an extra hour throughout the week to read up on the craft.

If I have pride in myself, I won’t be too harsh on myself when I make mistakes or be too caught up in being perfect.
If I have pride in myself, I won’t overindulge in eating and spending so much.
If I have pride in myself, I will be more confident in meeting new people.
If I have pride in myself, I’ll be able to help others more and better.

(This is an excerpt from a longer post which includes more of my goals from my other blog.)

 

4 responses to “#CelebrateLU- June 3, 2016

  1. Marcie Rush

    June 4, 2016 at 8:08 am

    Happy to hear your willingness to share! I especially like the part you mentioned about “I won’t be too harsh on myself when I make mistakes or be too caught up in being perfect.” I think society places pressure on us, but I also think we put pressure on ourselves. You bring up a good point. Love the writer hour, too!! Great focus for the month and nice reflection for us all on tolerance, confidence, and acceptance. Insert thumbs up emoji here 😉

     
  2. Terje

    June 4, 2016 at 11:05 am

    Our identities consist of many interconnected pieces. Self-care and feeling proud of who we are and what we do support us being healthy. I am impressed with the daily writing you have set up for yourself. Thank you for the reminder to not be harsh when mistakes happen.

     
  3. jarhartz

    June 4, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Earl,
    Such an important post. First, the idea that you have set more tangible goals for yourself, that is so reflective. That you give allowances for your growth, recognizing you aren’t there -YET. That you have set aside time to write for yourself as a part of self care, whoa, that is brilliant. And that you are looking to be kind to yourself.

    I am in awe of you. Thank you for being a tremendous model for me.

     
  4. Crystal @ Reading Through Life

    June 5, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. Your challenge sounds like a meaningful one and I wish you the best as you work towards being the best and truest you that you can be. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
