RSS

#IMWAYR- June 5, 2016

05 Jun

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Pride Goals.

I started volunteering again with Multnomah County Library but this time with their Every Childhood initiative in which they make sure the foundations of reading are being created at an early age.

And I found a new literacy nonprofit a county over from where I live. It was quite a trek to get to the Clackamas Bookshelf. I got lost and got rained on the way there but it was great to discover them. They clean donated books and give them out to kids in Clackamas County. They also have a bookstore of sorts next door to their main work area.

I was playing tour guide for my cousins visiting from San Francisco so I didn’t get much reading done. Most of them were nonfiction books so expect reviews of them this Wednesday.

My Dad At The ZooMy Dad At The Zoo by Coralie Saudo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed My Dad Is Big and Strong, But . . . and so was looking forward to this follow-up. Cute but not particularly needed. But then maybe I don’t like books about people acting too wild in zoos since the incident with the shot-down gorilla when a boy fell down its cage.
View all my reviews

SMASH: Trial by FireSMASH: Trial by Fire by Chris A. Bolton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I saw this duo during a literary festival and they seemed real nice folks so I decided to read their book. I would recommend this graphic novel to every kid who ever fantasized about being a superhero. Young readers will identify with the boy learning to use and control his newfound powers. Bullying and family dynamics are also explored. This is a first book in a planned series.

(Review from October 2013)
View all my reviews

smash1.5.jpg

Last November, the Bolton brothers posted a weekly installment of their webcomic “Monstrous” continuing the Smash series until the official sequel, which I can’t wait for! An enjoyable read  full of twists and adventure!

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “#IMWAYR- June 5, 2016

  1. Jane Whittingham

    June 5, 2016 at 11:14 pm

    I’m so thankful for all the dedicated, hardworking volunteers who support literacy organizations and initiatives in our communities – they make a difference in the lives of so many families!

     
  2. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    June 6, 2016 at 7:49 am

    My daughter was looking over my shoulder and was alarmed at “Animals are Delicious”. She had to read The Jungle a few summers ago, and she has been a vegetarian ever since! If you’re interested in the 48 Hour Book Challenge for next year, let me know! http://msyinglingreads.blogspot.com/2016/06/sic-transit-gloria-mundi-48-hour-book.html

     
  3. Tara Smith

    June 6, 2016 at 11:32 am

    Bravo to you and to all ;literacy volunteers – you help make our children’s reading lives come alive.

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 6, 2016 at 9:02 pm

    What a wonderful and purposeful literacy nonprofit! I want to join! Thanks for sharing, and thanks for volunteering. You are a good person. 🙂

     
  5. Michele

    June 7, 2016 at 2:40 pm

    Both are new titles for me!
    I love hearing about the volunteering you do!

     
  6. Myra GB

    June 9, 2016 at 3:08 am

    I hope you’re having a lot of fun with your visiting cousins from San Francisco – great nonprofit organization as well! I am now doing a fellowship in Munich which started out as a similar nonprofit org – and which continues up to now through the IBBY. I am also glad to see To Go Singing through the world – I just reserved it and am hoping to receive the book in a week’s time or so. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
