RSS

#IMWAYR- June 12, 2016

12 Jun

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my #PrideChallenge updates. Read my reviews for:

Introducing Teddy: A Gentle Story About Gender and FriendshipIntroducing Teddy: A Gentle Story About Gender and Friendship by Jess Walton

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

At first, I didn’t like this book because it seemed to oversimplify things. But then I remembered this was meant for kids- and really for the adults who need to explain a complicated matter to kids. I’m glad a conversation can be had if the situation arises.

View all my reviews

Nobody Likes a GoblinNobody Likes a Goblin by Ben Hatke

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Nobody Likes a Goblin but I can see lots of people liking this picture book. A fun “quest” book for young readers.

View all my reviews

Wendell the NarwhalWendell the Narwhal by Emily Dove
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Reminds me a little bit of The Little Mermaid’s “Under the Sea” musical sequence. A fun musical read for story time that celebrates one’s unique skills even if it’s not obvious at first.

View all my reviews

Daytime Visions: An AlphabetDaytime Visions: An Alphabet by Isol
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t totally get this picture book but that’s also why I liked it more than I did. Readers will want to contemplate each image and how that relates to the letter.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “#IMWAYR- June 12, 2016

  1. Myra GB

    June 13, 2016 at 3:11 am

    Benjamin Alire Saenz is coming to Munich for the White Ravens Festival this July and I am over the moon with excitement. Really looking forward to meeting him. 🙂

     
  2. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    June 13, 2016 at 4:03 am

    I’ll have to take a look at the Agatha Christie book, although I enjoy Sayers a lot more. More information on the 48 HBC is here: http://msyinglingreads.blogspot.com/2016/06/more-details-about-48hbc.html

     
  3. cweichel

    June 13, 2016 at 6:56 am

    Hi Earl, I enjoyed reading your pride challenge update. It reminded me that inside us all, learning to love ourselves for who we are is our biggest challenge. I love love love Aristotle and Dante and Benjamin Alire Saenz’ writing. When I am retired I hope to read more of his adult work.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    June 13, 2016 at 8:03 am

    I’ll look for the Pride book and the graphic novel about Agatha, Earl. What fun that will be to learn more about this writer. Thanks for all!

     
  5. Jane Whittingham

    June 13, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    The author of Pride is Canadian, so home town pride for Pride!! 😀

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 13, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    Aristotle & Dante is one of my favorite books of all time. What a remarkable text!

     
  7. Michele

    June 13, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    I just reread Nobody Likes a Goblin today! I really do love the illustrations in it. Aristotle and Dante is one I would like to read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
