RSS

#IMWAYR- June 19, 2016

19 Jun

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating my #PrideChallenge updates.

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

This is my 200th #IMWAYR post! Thank you for being such a great community! Book people are the best!

Bring Me a Rock!Bring Me a Rock! by Daniel Miyares

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Reminds me A Bug’s Life and Yertle the Turtle. I enjoy Daniel Miyares’ illustrations. A fun story for kids to learn about equality.

View all my reviews

Little Elliot, Big FunLittle Elliot, Big Fun by Mike Curato

Fans of Elliot will fall in love with this latest installment with its gorgeous illustrations including a fold out spread. A sweet story about how friendship can help the unknown less scary. Publishes August 30th.

View all my reviews

We Came to AmericaWe Came to America by Faith Ringgold

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A poem presented as a picture book sharing the immigrants’ experience. A good book that promotes diversity, great to pair with nonfiction text or novels tackling the same subject.

View all my reviews

Rosie the RavenRosie the Raven by Helga Bansch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

At first I was creeped out by the illustration of the newly hatched ravens and Rosie but this was a pretty sweet story about family. The premise is interesting enough that I wished it were a chapter book so I can read more of her adventures.

View all my reviews

Sometimes We Think You Are A MonkeySometimes We Think You Are A Monkey by Johanna Skibsrud

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Super sweet book perfect for newborns. I wish it were a board book.

View all my reviews

Near, Far: A Minibombo BookNear, Far: A Minibombo Book by Silvia Borando

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Extreme close ups and then a series of zoom outs will have readers guessing what animal they’re looking at.

View all my reviews

Now You See Me, Now You Don't: A Minibombo BookNow You See Me, Now You Don’t: A Minibombo Book by Silvia Borando

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this wordless picture book more than I thought I would. Simple illustrations and a simple concept. First you see, all the animals. Turn the page, the landscape changes and an animal or two blends in with the background. Turn the page again, a new creature is camouflaged. Fun and cute!

View all my reviews

Have You Seen Elephant? (Gecko Press Titles)Have You Seen Elephant? by David Barrow

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun silly picture book of a boy playing hide and seek with an elephant. Readers will enjoy the absurdity of it.

View all my reviews

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “#IMWAYR- June 19, 2016

  1. Michele

    June 20, 2016 at 9:48 am

    So jealous you’ve seen the newest Little Elliot! Hoping he’ll be at ALA this weekend!

     
  2. books4learning

    June 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    Have you seen an Elephant it cute. I need to check out Sometimes We Think You Are A Monkey and We Came to America. Thanks for the suggestions.

     
  3. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    June 20, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    I’ve never read any of the Little Elliot books and so many of my friends love them. I need to get the first one 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 20, 2016 at 8:15 pm

    My son would love The Airport Book. I must get that one. 🙂

     
  5. cweichel

    June 21, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    I also love Daniel Miyares books. I like the cover of Rosie at the Raven, but then I like ravens. I agree with you, book people are the best!

     

Leave a Reply

 
