RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #125

23 Jun

nfpb2016

I’m a day late since I’m having a situation again with my laptop. It may warrant another break from blogging.

Miracle Man: The Story of JesusMiracle Man: The Story of Jesus by John Hendrix
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was an interesting picture book. Choosing to tell Jesus’ story is quite daunting but I think John Hendrix managed to do it justice. Even though I was raised Catholic, I never read the Bible so I didn’t know some of the events that were mentioned. The author’s note indicates that many things were left out which is understandable but beginners can gleam plenty. The art is amazing (although not really my style) especially when the quotations are integrated into the illustrations.

View all my reviews

CircleCircle by Jeannie Baker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Using a wheelchaired-boy’s desire to fly as the starting point, we learn the incredible journey of godwits as they travel from Australia and New Zealand to the Arctic where they look for places to eat and breed. The collage illustrations are pretty but look better when one doesn’t zoom in on them.

View all my reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
