RSS

#IMWAYR- June 26, 2016

26 Jun

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

I had computer problems again this week! Posts I had intended to write didn’t happen so I’m somewhat behind and need catching up time!

I went to a Silent Reading Party. And it’s exactly how it sounds. It was held in a quaint bar and people just read for two hours as quietly as possible.

After that, my friends and I went to another bar that had a cool feature. There was a secret room behind a bookshelf!

And, I checked out a Book-O-Mat which is like RedBox but for library items!

BOOKOMAT

You Belong HereYou Belong Here by M H Clark

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another one of those sweet books that makes me want to rent a well-behaved baby to read this book to. The message is great for parent-child. The illustrations are gorgeous.

View all my reviews

Poor Little GuyPoor Little Guy by Elanna Allen

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another under the sea story that young readers will enjoy. Don’t pick on the little guys. They may just surprise you. I can see this being a hit during story time!

View all my reviews

My Dad Used to Be So CoolMy Dad Used to Be So Cool by Keith Negley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been wanting to read this one since I love his first book. With the same style of illustrations, Keith Negley captures how a boy sees his dad. A sweet book that would have been perfect for Father’s Day.

View all my reviews

Ms. Bixby's Last DayMs. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anderson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of Wonder will love this book. This will make you think about all the teachers and mentors that have shaped you into who you are. A lovely tribute to them. Full of quotations you just want to underline. But it’s not all sap. The trio of friends is an oddball mix. Kids will enjoy reading their adventures and misadventures as they try to create one special day for their favorite teacher.

View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

I didn’t know what to expect when I first read this but I ended up liking it. It was quirky and had perfectly flawed characters. It was a good mix of the totally absurd which made the heartbreaking moments more so. I would love to see this in production. I watched bits and pieces of the movie since I was interested in seeing if they were going to double up on the roles like originally intended- and they did for some but not all.

acPart of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “#IMWAYR- June 26, 2016

  1. Rachel Ann

    June 27, 2016 at 10:18 am

    A secret room behind a book case?!?! WHAT?! Where is this place? 🙂 Great post! I love getting new book ideas, thank you!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    June 27, 2016 at 11:32 am

    In my last house we had a secret room behind a book case, Earl. It was hard to say goodbye to that! How fun to have a “silent” reading party! Did you talk at the end & share books? Thanks for all these you shared today, many new to me.

     
  3. Tammy and Clare

    June 27, 2016 at 11:33 am

    So glad you loved Mrs. Bixby’s Last Day – We just ordered it from the library. The Book-O-Mat is very cool. Thanks for sharing that idea.

     
  4. Jane Whittingham

    June 27, 2016 at 12:09 pm

    The silent reading party sounds fun, though I think I’d constantly be tempted to ask other people about their books. 🙂

     
  5. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    June 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    Ha! I love the idea of a “silent reading party.” Now that would be a great party to tempt students with …

     
  6. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    June 27, 2016 at 5:09 pm

    The silent reading party sounds like my kind of party–and I could not resist a secret room behind a bookshelf, either! The picture books look like fun books.

     
  7. Karen Yingling

    June 27, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    Lots more book adventures where you are! We just have street construction everywhere! Anderson has ANOTHER book coming out in September that is even better than Ms. Bixby! Insert Coin to Continue was awesome!

     
  8. Cheriee Weichel

    June 28, 2016 at 6:44 am

    A Silent Reading Party is about all I could manage these days – although like Linda, I want to know if people talked about their books afterwards.

     
  9. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 28, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    I want to read Bixby. Kellee is on it, but I haven’t gotten a copy for review. It is a mission of mine.

     
  10. annettepimentel

    June 29, 2016 at 11:36 am

    “Redbox for library items”–brilliant!

     

Leave a Reply

 
