RSS

#CelebrateLU- July 1, 2016

01 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m continuing celebrating my #PrideChallenge.

(Due to computer problems, some of this post was intended to be released mid-June.)

pridesign

As I immerse myself in LGBT books and films, I see how LGBT history has been full of darkness with having to hide being who you are and who you love, being ridiculed, threatened, beaten, and even punished to death. Then, the AIDS epidemic that took so many lives. Even now, the sadness and madness continues with ignorance guiding or misguiding people’s behaviors.

I can see the importance of Pride, of having to celebrate and dance, to let in the light, and to be the light. I can see the importance of Pride- especially now, after the massacre at Orlando’s Pulse gay nightclub. Waking up on a Sunday morning to that horrific news was a nightmare. So many lives lost- and many more affected and forever altered. Yet another crime committed by someone who had his hands on a gun no civilian should even have had access to.

pridebooks

Aside from prominently displaying our Pride books, business went on as usual. But I tried to be extra appreciative of the general kindness people were showing that day. I told the lady who volunteers with her therapy dog how much happiness they bring to the people who read to them. After work, I went to a vigil. It was a spur of the moment thing that caught on in Portland. So many people responded to it and attended because they needed to be with others who were feeling the same sadness, anger, fear, loss of hope, and tenacity to not let this act of hate diminish their ability to love.

Another vigil took place later in the week. I saw all kinds of people there which I needed to see. I liked seeing the kids at these kinds of events because it gives me hope that compassion is being taught at an early age.

candlewax

Melted Candle Wax from a Vigil- By the time I looked down, I noticed my candle had formed half a heart so I decided to complete it. By the time it was over, the heart was formed and more solid.

 

The tragedy put things in perspective for me. Pride weekend was the following week in Portland. I was originally just going to watch in the sidelines of the Parade but an organization invited people to join them so I invited friends and we walked. I also decided to participate the Pride Glow Run at the last minute and I met other friends another night to celebrate.

priderun

priderun1

A view from my run. The Morrison Bridge lit up in rainbow colors.

pride2pride3

pride4

At the Pride Festival grounds, some people set up “Doors of Love” where messages can be written.

Pride weekend became a celebration of love. I’m so proud of any and every one who chooses love over hate, hope over fear!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “#CelebrateLU- July 1, 2016

  1. aruddteacher100

    July 2, 2016 at 6:34 am

    Yes, love and hope need to win. The world needs more of it. I’m happy that you found ways to do just that during your celebrations.

     
  2. Michelle Haseltine

    July 2, 2016 at 7:30 am

    I love reading about your participation in Pride weekend! Choose love! Always love! It’s a simple message, but a powerful one.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    July 2, 2016 at 3:12 pm

    You look so happy in your pictures, Earl. I’m glad you shared, love each part, and especially that candle wax heart.

     
  4. Julie Johnson

    July 2, 2016 at 3:41 pm

    Yes, yes, yes!! Let the light in and be the light. Beautiful!

     
  5. cvarsalona

    July 4, 2016 at 3:58 am

    Choose love over hate as a symbol that humankind can return to the task of being human. Happiness flows from those who choose love. Go Earl!

     
  6. Ramona

    July 4, 2016 at 5:36 am

    Love this celebration of your participation in so many events. Yes to love over hate and hope over fear.

     

Leave a Reply

 
