RSS

#IMWAYR- July 10, 2016

10 Jul

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating YOU and your potential to do great things for good.

I visited a cool new public art exhibit this past week called the Little Free Gallery Project in which Portland artists paired with Little Free Gallery owners to transform these neighborhood boxes into various art installations. I didn’t get to visit all sixteen of them but I did visit some of them. I was impressed by the originality and creativity of this concept. Here are some of the ones I visited:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

FishFish by Liam Francis Walsh

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A boy and his dog decide to fish- for letters. It’s kind of a weird premise but it pays off in the end.

View all my reviews

The Mixed-Up TruckThe Mixed-Up Truck by Stephen Savage

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A cute story about a cement mixer’s first day at the job. Perfect for young readers who love books about things that go!

View all my reviews

OokoOoko by Esme Shapiro

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An adorable, charming, and quirky story about a fox in search of a friend and finding one in the most unexpected place. I think kids will enjoy this for story time!

View all my reviews

MigrantMigrant by Jose Manuel Mateo

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thanks to Gathering Books for sharing this title. In this lavishly illustrated story (which folds out accordion-style) we follow one family’s perilous journey to cross the US-Mexico border representing the thousands of others who take the same journey with various outcomes. It leaves readers wondering what will become of the family.

View all my reviews

The Not-a-Pig (Mango & Bambang #1)The Not-a-Pig by Polly Faber

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

In this new (at least, in America) early chapter book, a girl who is quite good at most things befriends a tapir. In four tales, they get into mini-adventures, meeting new friends and new enemies, and discovering friendship is a great way to tackle new unfamiliar challenges.

The only thing that bothered me, and it’s only because I’m a crotchety old man, is that in one of the stories, they were walking around by themselves at midnight. In fact, there may have been other of these little instances that may have made me not like the book as much. But I’m sure I’m the only one who overthought them.

I love the design and, as I guessed, each book will have its own unique color scheme.

View all my reviews

Death in the Clouds (Hercule Poirot, #12)Death in the Clouds by Agatha Christie

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

[Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
[Must Read in 2016 Reading Challenge]

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “#IMWAYR- July 10, 2016

  1. Kay Mcgriff

    July 11, 2016 at 5:24 am

    I know about Little Free Libraries, but not the Little Free Galleries. I love the concept! Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 11, 2016 at 6:00 am

    Love that idea of the little free galleries, Earl. There are many Little libraries in Denver, so hoping someone hears of this idea and does it, too! Thanks for the books, all new to me except for Migrant. What a fabulous book it is!

     
  3. Jane Whittingham

    July 11, 2016 at 9:01 am

    I really want to find Ooko, it’s getting a ton of press recently, and the illustrations are so quirky.

     
  4. Tara Smith

    July 11, 2016 at 12:31 pm

    Little Free Libraries and Galleries – just the thought of these makes me happy!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    July 11, 2016 at 1:39 pm

    These all look like such cute picture books! I don’t know any of them 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 11, 2016 at 7:40 pm

    You make me want to move to Portland! We don’t have anything this cool around me!

     
  7. Diana Hewlett (@DiHewlett)

    July 12, 2016 at 1:51 am

    Thanks for stopping by my #IMWAYR and thanks for your round up. I always love finding great new books as possible reads for my littles. Ooko especially looks intriguing for us. Have a lovely week.

     
  8. cschwanke2013

    July 12, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    I like your idea of not posting negative reviews. So many books, so little time, so let’s hear about the good ones. Besides, it can be hard to get boys excited about reading, so I try not to review I don’t like.

     
  9. Myra GB

    July 13, 2016 at 1:55 pm

    I love that you found Migrant and enjoyed it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
