RSS

#IMWAYR- July 17, 2016

17 Jul

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my work’s seventh anniversary.

Ada Twist, ScientistAda Twist, Scientist by Andrea Beaty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally! Readers will not be disappointed in meeting Iggy and Rosie’s classmate Ada Marie! Her inquisitive mind leads her to try and solve a rather smelly dilemma. Another thing I love about this series is that there are adults who are supportive of encouraging the children’s curiosity.

View all my reviews

The Summer Nick Taught His Cats to ReadThe Summer Nick Taught His Cats to Read by Curtis Manley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I absolutely enjoyed this delightful book that celebrates reading! Nick decides to teach his cats how to read and finds himself more successful with one of them than the other. The illustrations were great, especially the portrayal of the grumpy cat. It’s always nice to see how the love of reading can be fostered and nurtured. It’s perfect for summer reading!

View all my reviews

Make Way for ReadersMake Way for Readers by Judy Sierra
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun picture book about the magic of story time.

View all my reviews

Lion LessonsLion Lessons by Jon Agee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This would make for a cute read-aloud as kids follow along the boy’s lessons into becoming a lion!

View all my reviews

Sing with Me!: Action Songs Every Child Should KnowSing with Me!: Action Songs Every Child Should Know by Naoko Stoop
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve enjoyed Naoko Stoop’s Red Knit Cap Girl books. Her signature style of illustrations can be seen here. I like how she accompanies the rhymes and songs with simple motion instructions.

I have no idea why they didn’t just release this as an oversized board book to make it better as a read-aloud.

View all my reviews

This Book Just Ate My Dog!This Book Just Ate My Dog! by Richard Byrne
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love how much fun people have been having with what makes a physical book so great! And, props to everyone designing a good book especially if has lots of little details to enjoy like this one. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where the gutter of the book is a character!

View all my reviews

We're in the Wrong Book!We’re in the Wrong Book! by Richard Byrne
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bella and Ben’s adventures continue in this fun sequel. They find themselves characters in different kinds of books- from picture book to comics to activity book and other types in between.

View all my reviews

This book is out of control!This book is out of control! by Richard Byrne
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t like this installment as much as I did the first two in the series but I’m sure readers will enjoy the silly interactive elements in this one.

View all my reviews

I’m working on a school-themed post for my work’s blog.

School's First Day of SchoolSchool’s First Day of School by Adam Rex
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s not only kids who get first-day jitters as we see in School’s First Day of School.

This charming picture book introduces a newly built school wondering how the students will like him! He worries they don’t like him. He’s a little bit mean to one of them. He’s embarrassed when his fire alarm goes off. But as the day progresses, he’s excited to learn new things and meet new friends.

Paired with Christian Robinson’s vibrant and playful illustrations, Adam Rex has created a story perfect for any classroom read-aloud.

View all my reviews

The ClassThe Class by Boni Ashburn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Celebrate all the ways children get ready for the first day of kindergarten in this fun rhyming picture book. It’s a fun and funny, cute and chaotic story as we follow the morning preparations of twenty different kids!

View all my reviews

Ming Goes to SchoolMing Goes to School by Deirdre Sullivan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The watercolor art is enough of a reason to get this book. Beautiful illustrations!

This quiet tale follows a girl through an entire school year as she soaks up the simple moments and gathers up strength to take on new challenges.

View all my reviews

Steamboat SchoolSteamboat School by Deborah Hopkinson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Based on a true story, this is an inspiring account of how important education is and the great lengths people would go to to ensure no one misses out! The illustrations are stunning!

View all my reviews

Walking with Ramona: Exploring Beverly Cleary's PortlandWalking with Ramona: Exploring Beverly Cleary’s Portland by Laura O. Foster
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this through helping fund its Kickstater campaign. I actually took the author-led tour a few years ago and I loved it. This goes in-depth of the time and places we visited. A nice guide book to have for Beverly Cleary fans or literary travelers.

View all my reviews

Review Notes

I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “#IMWAYR- July 17, 2016

  1. Jane Whittingham

    July 18, 2016 at 10:29 am

    So excited for Ada Twist! I’ve loved this series so far, and I can’t wait to see what the author/illustrator duo comes up with next! Always so great to see inspiring stories for young girls that encourage imagination, creativity and perseverance.

     
  2. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 18, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    The Summer Nick Taught His Cats to Read looks like a charming book. I am going to request it through my library! Thank you!

     
  3. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    July 18, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I love the Jazz theme this week! 🙂

    And I can’t wait to read School’s First Day of School. I’m curious to see a picture book that Adam Rex wrote but didn’t illustrate. That’s definitely a new one on me.

     
  4. crbrunelle

    July 20, 2016 at 7:00 pm

    I can’t wait to read about Ada. I read School’s First Day of School today and really enjoyed it.

     
  5. cweichel

    July 22, 2016 at 10:42 am

    As usual, after reading your post, I have a whole mess of new books to look forward to! I’ve added Ada Twist to a shopping cart that I no longer get to actually purchase. Sigh, I can only hope the new TL will take my suggestions under consideration.

     

Leave a Reply

 
