RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #129

20 Jul

nfpb2016

Filipino Celebrations: A Treasury of Feasts and FestivalsFilipino Celebrations: A Treasury of Feasts and Festivals by Liana Romulo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun book that talks about the different types of celebrations that take place in the Philippines- from common ones like birthdays and Christmas to more specific religious or local ones. Includes translations throughout the book as well as a glossary in the back. There are also some activities to do complete with instructions.

View all my reviews

Library of Luminaries: Virginia Woolf: An Illustrated BiographyLibrary of Luminaries: Virginia Woolf: An Illustrated Biography by Zena Alkayat
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Artsy book. Great quick read to get an overview of Virginia Woolf’s life. Probably good for middle grade and up. I’m curious as to the other books in the series.

View all my reviews

Cloth Lullaby: The Woven Life of Louise BourgeoisCloth Lullaby: The Woven Life of Louise Bourgeois by Amy Novesky
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This gorgeously illustrated picture book has been catching my eye every time I see it. It tells the life of artist Louise Bourgeois and how the grief of losing her mother helped her with her art. Very informative and wonderful insight to an artist’s inspiration.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #129

  1. Michele

    July 20, 2016 at 5:59 pm

    There’s been a lot of love for Cloth Lullaby. I don’t know if it was my mood that day, but I didn’t love it. Not sure if it was the artwork or story, but something didn’t strike a chord with me.

     
  2. crbrunelle

    July 20, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    I’ve been on the lookout for Cloth Lullaby. The cover also catches my eye.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    July 21, 2016 at 7:12 pm

    I still haven’t found Cloth Lullaby, and the others you shared look good, too. Thanks for sharing the Filipino book, will also pass it on to my niece.

     

Leave a Reply

 
