RSS

#CelebrateLU- July 22, 2016

22 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Bookstore Moments.

This past Sunday, we had one of our most super fun events. We had Rojo the therapy Llama come to the store where Shannon Joy, his handler, read their first picture book together, Rojo: The Perfectly Imperfect Llama. I love that each book gets kissed by Rojo himself! After the reading, everyone got to meet Rojo, pose with him, and even feed him a carrot. Lots of people had a great time- even me and I don’t like animals!

This past Monday, I had my annual review. (I would have been with Green Bean Books for four years this coming Tuesday!) The day turned out to be a rather reflective day.

There were lots of nice customers. There was even an emotional moment with a fellow Alberta (the neighborhood where I work) Street employee whose boss recently passed away due to cancer. Even though I didn’t personally know her boss, I knew of her. We talked about a life that left behind a lasting impact in her community.

I love that books are such great unifiers. I’m grateful that people value my opinions and seek my recommendations. I love that I get to share books about kindness and love and things that may help them with what they’re going through at that moment.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

9 responses to “#CelebrateLU- July 22, 2016

  1. jarhartz

    July 23, 2016 at 11:29 am

    How fun to have the inspiration of the story join in the storytelling. Animals and books are a great kid combination!

     
  2. newtreemom

    July 23, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    Those pictures are just too funny! Never would have thought of llamas as therapy animals, although I did know some families when I lived in Lima, Peru who had llamas for pets when their children were young.

     
  3. Tara Smith

    July 23, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    Making a lasting impact through books and community – that is celebratory, indeed.

     
  4. Mandy Robek

    July 23, 2016 at 6:53 pm

    There is so much goodness in your celebration. I love the llama pictures and celebrating putting books in peoples hands to help them.

     
  5. margaretsmn

    July 24, 2016 at 5:33 am

    When I was with Tara at her farm, we found ourselves drawn to bookstores to talk about books and the kids we teach. I so wish that Rojo had been there. I’ve never seen a llama that close before. How sweet.

     
  6. Linda Baie

    July 24, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Terrific pictures of you with that llama, Earl! You’re a good sport considering, as you wrote, that you don’t like animals. Love all the bookish celebrations, hearing the connections.

     
  7. crbrunelle

    July 24, 2016 at 5:59 pm

    Your interactions with the llama look so fun. Yay for book connections.

     
  8. cvarsalona

    July 25, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    Thank you for always sharing your love of books, Earl, and your antics with the llama. Your quote says it all for me, “I love that books are such great unifiers.”

     
  9. Ramona

    July 29, 2016 at 9:49 pm

    Bookstore moments – great things to share. Love the llama pics!

     

Leave a Reply

 
