RSS

#IMWAYR- July 24, 2016

24 Jul

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Bookstore Moments.

Samson in the SnowSamson in the Snow by Philip C. Stead

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Beautiful illustrations. Sweet story. This will probably be a quiet classic.

View all my reviews

Make Way for ReadersMake Way for Readers by Judy Sierra

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun picture book about the magic of story time.

View all my reviews

The Not So Quiet LibraryThe Not So Quiet Library by Zachariah OHora

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fun and funny story about a surprise and surprising visitor who make quite the ruckus inside a library. Lots of subtle humor here and there that adds up to one hilarious tale.

View all my reviews

No Fits, Nilson!No Fits, Nilson! by Zachariah OHora

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This picture book has been a popular tantrum pick at our store. Zacharian OHora is a fun illustrator and I finally read this one after reading another of his books. Such a unique story approach and I love the style choices.

View all my reviews

March of the Mini Beasts (The DATA Set Book 1)March of the Mini Beasts by Ada Hopper

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Great for Magic Tree House readers. I’ll definitely be recommending this series a lot. I love the diversity in personalities and interests. The adventures of the DATA set will definitely hook readers. Illustrations in every page.

View all my reviews

Poppy! and the Lost LagoonPoppy! and the Lost Lagoon by Matt Kindt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This would be an easy graphic novel to recommend. It feels like an old-fashioned adventure story. We have a plucky girl and her guardian going out on adventures. They deal with reincarnated entities, an underwater civilization, rare creatures, and a mysterious robot just to name a few in what I’m sure is the first of a series. I also liked the puzzle aspect. My only problem was that everything didn’t seem to mesh well with me. I can’t pinpoint why exactly but I’m sure readers will want to read this.
View all my reviews

kidlit

I also won a bundle of Todd Parr books from KidLit_TV! I’m so excited to pass the teachers book to my BFF and the other two to a local literacy nonprofit.

Teachers Rock!Teachers Rock! by Todd Parr

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I think this is my first Todd Parr book and I’m glad it celebrates the awesomeness of teachers. His style is definitely not for everyone but lots of people love it. The dustjacket folds out into a poster.

View all my reviews

It's Okay to Be DifferentIt’s Okay to Be Different by Todd Parr

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Simple text and vibrant illustrations tell kids it’s okay to be different and how mistakes can somehow lead to something unexpectedly better.

View all my reviews

The Goodbye BookThe Goodbye Book by Todd Parr

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a great book for young readers who may have experienced or is experiencing a sudden loss. It covers enough of the grieving process and the emotional rollercoaster that will hopefully give them something to relate with and help with their own feelings.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “#IMWAYR- July 24, 2016

  1. cweichel

    July 25, 2016 at 11:09 am

    I’m looking forward to Samson in the Snow. Philip Stead is amazing! I liked the simplicity in Todd Parr’s The Goodbye Book. I’ll have to have a look at Teacher’s Rock.

     
  2. Tara Smith

    July 25, 2016 at 11:16 am

    Great collection of reads, Earl. I love Virginia Woolf, so
    i will have to check out the book you suggested, as well as the series.

     
  3. Jane Whittingham

    July 25, 2016 at 11:44 am

    Zachariah O’Hora is really having a moment, which is fantastic! Such fun stories, and really distinctive illustrations.

     
  4. Michele

    July 25, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    I’m looking forward to seeing Samson in the Snow.
    The Not So Quiet Library was fun! I could see young readers enjoying the “goofiness” of it!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    July 25, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    I love learning about board books with good messages–thank you 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  6. Linda Baie

    July 25, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    Much to love hear, Earl. I looked up the Virginia Woolf book and realized that there are several books that look great in that series. Thanks also for the new Stead book. I love Ideas Are All Around, know I will love this one too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
