RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #130

27 Jul

nfpb2016

The ToadThe Toad by Elise Gravel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A disgusting yet delightful discovery, Elise Gravel’s Disgusting Critters series introduces beginning readers to facts regarding certain familiar creatures. The humor and illustrations will appeal to kids and will want them to read more. Addicting for adults as well!

View all my reviews

Coyote MoonCoyote Moon by Maria Gianferrari
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Following a coyote through the night as she searches for food for her pups, we also learn more about these animals. With the stunning almost photographic pictures, I admit this book frightened me a little. It’s not like I ever wanted to sleep in a cemetery but knowing there may be coyotes nearby makes me never want to do so.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #130

  1. Jane the Rain City Librarian

    July 27, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Yes, I love Elise Gravel! I’ve used her Disgusting Critters books with my Early Readers Book Club – they’re a bit gross, but mostly pretty cute. 🙂

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 27, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    I still haven’t read any of those disgusting critters books, something to remedy. And I noted Coyote Moon, another to find. We now have coyotes in my city neighborhood, not so fun for the small creatures around. But still, the book looks inviting. Thanks, Earl!

     
  3. Michele

    July 27, 2016 at 5:22 pm

    I really do love the Disgusting Critters books! They are so engaging, that despite their silliness, they really do teach some interesting facts. I’ll be on the lookout for this one!

     
  4. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    July 27, 2016 at 8:31 pm

    Coyote Moon is a bit frightening in its mood and realism! I can definitely see that.
    Now, I do not do Toads in real life! But the humor in this one is intriguing 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
