RSS

#IMWAYR- July 31, 2016

31 Jul

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating our Kids Graphic Novel Book Club.

Nothing Ever Happens On My BlockNothing Ever Happens On My Block by Ellen Raskin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun book where readers will enjoy all the goings-on in the visuals as opposed to the text.
View all my reviews

Andy Warhol Happy Bug DayAndy Warhol Happy Bug Day by Mudpuppy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A board book about colors using Andy Warhol’s art. The cursive text is kind of hard to read.
View all my reviews

I read Toni Yuly’s books in preparation for her visit to our store in August. Her books are great for toddlers and perfect for story time. I was very impressed by the simplicity of her stories but they weren’t at all simplistic. I even came up with a fun craft for Cat Nap!

Make Good ArtMake Good Art by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Another one of those commencement speeches turned book. Neil Gaiman makes some fascinating points about making good art. The book is designed by Chip Kidd which makes it interesting.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

The Artist's Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher CreativityThe Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this for years now but was never really in the mood. And I didn’t want to not be receptive to it. I’ve done Morning Pages and Artist Dates in the past. Some people may be turned off by the spiritual leanings but the book does have lots of solid advice which will surely inspire readers to explore their creative selves. I would encourage multiple readings of the book. It’d be interesting to read and do this book as a group.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “#IMWAYR- July 31, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    August 1, 2016 at 8:02 am

    Toni Yuly’s books would be great gifts for baby showers I think. They are cute to see. And the Neil Gaiman surely is inspiring. Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. msyingling

    August 1, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    Noah, Ellen Raskin. Didn’t know she’d done a picture book. I still have The Mysterious Disappearance of Leon, I Mean Noel on the shelf, along with The Tatooed Potato. Good times. Looks like you had a good week of reading.

     
  3. Tara Smith

    August 1, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    I’d love to read that Gaiman book – he is quite something, omnipresent across so many types of media these days.

     
  4. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    August 2, 2016 at 9:21 am

    I read The Artist’s Way years ago, and it’s still on my shelf. I’ve been considering digging it out to reread, especially as I’m getting in the habit of writing morning pages again.

     

Leave a Reply

 
