RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #131

03 Aug

nfpb2016

A nonfiction board book series translated from French, Picture This offers simple text accompanied by beautiful photography that will satisfy the curiosities of the youngest readers and maybe get them to find out more.

I really enjoyed the text of Colors. It would make for a good read aloud.

Numbers is paired with an interesting tidbit.

I’ve been really surprised by how informative yet engaging these books are.

Read my reviews of the other books in this series here.

Little People, BIG DREAMS: Maya AngelouLittle People, BIG DREAMS: Maya Angelou by Lisbeth Kaiser
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d recently read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and I’m always thrilled when people venture from the standard people when doing biographies for kids. I was intrigued how they were going to tackle certain issues of her life. I’m sure readers will leave inspired after reading about her struggles and accomplishments.

View all my reviews

Some BugsSome Bugs by Angela Diterlizzi
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun board book about different kinds of bugs and what they do. The story invites readers to explore the world around them. Includes a two-page spread of all the bugs featured in the book.

View all my reviews

Ada's Violin: The Story of the Recycled Orchestra of ParaguayAda’s Violin: The Story of the Recycled Orchestra of Paraguay by Susan Hood
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’d been meaning to check out this book after reading so many rave reviews about it. It didn’t disappoint. In fact, after reading it, I was impressed by how many great music books there are for kids- and how important that students need to have music in their lives. Music can teach them so much! I even ended up recommending this to a librarian already because this story about the Recycled Orchestra of Paraguay is truly inspiring.

View all my reviews

Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. WhiteSome Writer!: The Story of E. B. White by Melissa Sweet
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This much talked about biography of cherished author E.B. White will not disappoint. It’s such a loving tribute to the man who brought so much joy to the world with his words. Not only is the book enhanced with Melissa Sweet’s mixed media art but it features so many cool archival images- from a self-made brochure E.B. (Andy) made for his friend about their summer residence, clippings of published works from newspapers and magazines, family pictures, to draft pages of his classic works (which is worth the price of the book alone!)

View all my reviews

Beatrix Potter and Her Paint BoxBeatrix Potter and Her Paint Box by David McPhail
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t know how many Beatrix Potter biographies I’ve read at this point but I love her love of animals and how she wasn’t particularly good at keeping pets. I was a bit underwhelmed with this book to be honest.

View all my reviews

 

One response to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #131

  1. annettepimentel

    August 3, 2016 at 7:28 am

    It’s interesting to me to see how nonfiction is presented to very young children. The French translation books rely on brilliant photography, but the Some Bugs book takes a completely different approach. I’m definitely checking out that difference. Thanks for the reviews!

     

Leave a Reply

 
