RSS

#CelebrateLU- August 5, 2016

05 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating the Gilmore Girls.

It’s been the summer of Gilmore for me.

I loved watching family dynamics and this show features one of the most refreshing mother-daughter relationship in the titular characters.

I loved the caffeine-fueled, fast-talking pop culture, literary, and music references of the show.

The quirkiness of Stars Hollow and its residents didn’t seem forced. In fact, you’ll be hard pressed not to want to live in their little hamlet with its two bookstores, a library, and Luke’s Diner- and all of its town events!

Gilmore Girls was definitely a binge-watch worthy show. I didn’t even mind the much despised seventh season. There was a sense of different-ness about it but it wasn’t as bad as people made it out to be. Sure, there were frustrating storylines but previous seasons had them as well. Without spoiling anything (or, at least, too much), I hated the Rory/Dean relationship and anything to do with the Life and Death Brigade.

It was hard not to get spoiled myself especially amid all the news of the revival which I’m excited about. November 25th can’t come soon enough!

The show ended in a good place full of possibilities. It’ll be interesting to see what the new episodes will bring.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

9 responses to “#CelebrateLU- August 5, 2016

  1. Amy Warntz

    August 6, 2016 at 3:52 am

    You have piqued my curiosity! I just googled the show and am happy to see that it is on Netflix, which we have! That can be dangerous, though! It could turn into some “binge” watching! Thanks for sharing. ~Amy

     
  2. Michelle Haseltine

    August 6, 2016 at 4:48 am

    I’ve watched bits and pieces, but never a full season. Maybe it’s time I dove into Gilmore Girls! Love the post!

     
  3. Tara Smith

    August 6, 2016 at 5:36 am

    I, too, have not watched this show, Earl – but your review makes me want to. Enjoy the weekend!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    August 6, 2016 at 6:27 am

    I guess I’ll echo the above, have never watched them, but maybe now I’ll take a look, Earl!

     
  5. Loralee

    August 6, 2016 at 8:24 am

    I’m excited the reunion as well! I watched them all and hope to watch them again before November! Enjoyed your post! :0)

     
    • Loralee

      August 6, 2016 at 8:25 am

      Oops! I’m excited for the…:0)

       
  6. Ramona

    August 6, 2016 at 8:43 am

    Earl, I watched these with my daughter back in the day. But, I’m thinking it would be fun to binge watch them before November. Now, how to find the time . . .

     
  7. Maria

    August 6, 2016 at 10:14 am

    LOVE LOVE Gilmore Girls – such fond memories watching all the episodes with my daughter. I’m thrilled about the reunion.

     
  8. jarhartz

    August 6, 2016 at 11:15 am

    There is nothing like finding a show to binge watch. Especially in the summer. I haven’t tried the Gilmore Girls, yet! Thanks for the recommendation.

     

Leave a Reply

 
