RSS

#CelebrateLU- August 12, 2016

12 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my Core Goals and Kindness.

My Core Goals

These have been my Core Goals which I’ve tried to base my actions on for over five years now.

coregoals

New Cores added focuses on Volunteering/Kindness and Self-Care. Ever since moving to Portland, volunteering has become a huge part of my life. And it overlaps with other Cores. As for Self-Care, we tend to think it’s a selfish concept but it’s probably the most important. It’s also the most difficult because we’re usually own our toughest critics.

I will be a successful published writer.

I will entertain people with my stories.

I will promote literacy especially in children’s lives.

I will live the most authentic and best life possible that is honest and respectful of myself and others.

I will surround myself with people who share my interests and learn from one another.

I will lead a healthy and active lifestyle.

I will be financially secure and independent.

I will do as much good in the world as I possibly can.

I will be as good to myself as I am to others.

What are your Cores (guiding principles)?

Kindness

Focusing (or refocusing) on my Core Goals reminded me of my One Little Word for this year: Kindness.

I had started a blog- Kindness Conversations– for it but then put it in the backburner. I recently started it up again. I shared my Kindness Story and posted Crystal’s Kindness Story. I hope you will share yours too!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “#CelebrateLU- August 12, 2016

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 13, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    I really, really love this idea of putting your core goals and values into words and returning to them and reflecting on them over time. The world can push and pull us in so many different directions, and it’s easy to lose sight of what really matters to us and what we stand for or believe in. You’ve inspired me to sit down and reflect on what my own core values are.

     
  2. Ramona

    August 14, 2016 at 7:14 pm

    Love seeing your core goals. And I need to refocus on my OLW too. Thanks for the reminder.

     

Leave a Reply

 
