RSS

#IMWAYR- August 14, 2016

14 Aug

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my Core Goals and Kindness.

coregoals

Let's Read!Let’s Read! by Shanda Laramee-Jones
This board book celebrates the importance of reading at a very young age. Great to have in doctor’s offices or daycares or WIC centers.
View all my reviews

Little Bot and SparrowLittle Bot and Sparrow by Jake Parker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Cute illustrations. I wouldn’t mind if this were the first in a series.
View all my reviews

It's Never Too LateIt’s Never Too Late by Dallas Clayton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I almost didn’t read this (although I’ve read most of his other books) because of all the claims that he’s the “new Dr. Seuss.” I strongly believe that title goes to Mo Willems.

I do agree this book is like another Dr. Seuss book but for a more mature audience. It’s cute.
View all my reviews

LucyLucy by Randy Cecil
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This reminds me of a cross between Kate DiCamillo and Brian Selznick. A sweet story about a dog, a girl, and her father who has a surprising talent. I loved that it was divided into four acts and I found myself flipping back to see how each scene built up from the previous.
View all my reviews

The Raven: A Pop-up BookThe Raven: A Pop-up Book by Edgar Allan Poe
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Christopher Wormell’s paper engineering makes it definitely worth it to get this book. Lift the flaps reveals the text of the poem. I’m so glad I picked this up because I was considering reading Poe’s completes tales and poems as a reading challenge. While I think I enjoyed the writing when I was younger, I think I’ll pass on it as an adult.
View all my reviews

Mischief SeasonMischief Season by John Bemelmans Marciano
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I wish I liked this more because it was giving me a Pinocchio feel (the book version) and I enjoyed the illustrations but I didn’t like the characters. This would be good for a study in folk tales and fairy tales.
View all my reviews

Ellie's Log: Exploring the Forest Where the Great Tree FellEllie’s Log: Exploring the Forest Where the Great Tree Fell by Judith L. Li
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Nature lovers will enjoy this book because it’s about a girl who decides to explore the forest where she lives after a snow storm. With the help of her family and new friend, they become nature detectives and uncover a lot of interesting flora and fauna facts. Includes tips on keeping one’s own nature log.
View all my reviews

LeafLeaf by Daishu Ma
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This would have been interesting to read without reading the summary because I wonder if I would have gotten it without being given the details of this wordless picture book/graphic novel. Beautiful illustrations though.
View all my reviews

Sustainable Happiness: Live Simply, Live Well, Make a DifferenceSustainable Happiness: Live Simply, Live Well, Make a Difference by Sarah van Gelder
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I bought this in a Friends of the Library book sale. It was a quick read (considering they’re magazine articles consolidated into a book) on a subject that I’ve been fascinated with. This is a good book to have for instant inspirations.
View all my reviews

Seven Brief Lessons on PhysicsSeven Brief Lessons on Physics by Carlo Rovelli
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I admit this book fascinated me because it looked like an important book in a slim volume. It offers a quick overview of a few lessons on physics and trying to create a coherent thread throughout. Even a person like me who’s not scientifically minded will enjoy this. The sentence that stood out to me was “Genius hesitates.”
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge

The ABC Murders (Hercule Poirot, #13)The ABC Murders by Agatha Christie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
[Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]

Poirot and Hastings have teamed up again to catch a serial killer working his way through the alphabet! I’ve reread this one multiple times.
View all my reviews

Murder in Mesopotamia (Hercule Poirot, #14)Murder in Mesopotamia by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
[Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]

I’m definitely behind on these particular reading challenges but luckily I am easily hooked on Agatha Christie novels.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “#IMWAYR- August 14, 2016

  1. Michele

    August 15, 2016 at 8:32 am

    You’ve got some deep books this week!
    I really enjoyed Lucy and Witches. Witches made me crack up. At first I didn’t like it, but by the end, I really wanted to know what would happen. I ordered the second book, hope to get to it soon.
    I think Lucy has some great teaching potential to use as a mentor text. I like seeing how the strands of the story came together.

     
  2. cweichel

    August 15, 2016 at 8:53 am

    There are so many beautiful looking books here Earl. I’m interested in Lucy and have bookmarked Seven Brief Lessons on Physics as a possible xmas gift for this year. Thanks so much.

     
  3. Myra GB

    August 16, 2016 at 12:32 am

    Loving your core goals! So many new titles here that I should really hunt down in our libraries soonest. 🙂 And really, a Physics book? wow.

     
  4. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    August 17, 2016 at 12:36 pm

    The Seven Brief Lessons on Physics reminds me of the physics class I took in college. To my surprise, I loved it (no math in this physics class for English majors as I called it) because it focused on core principles of physics and how those principles shaped society.

     

Leave a Reply

 
